Plymouth-start.service failed...

New to SolydXK? This is the place to start.
Please check the other subforums to see if there's a more suitable place for your question.
Oxonsi

Plymouth-start.service failed...

Postby Oxonsi » 13 Jul 2015 23:47

I am relatively new to Linux, and I just installed the SolydK distro. So far I'm impressed with how stable and user-friendly it is.

One question has arisen: I noticed that I always receive a plymouth-start.service failed message during boot. I also confirmed in the systemd System Manager that plymouth-start service failed. Note that I changed my kernel parameters in GRUB from 'quiet splash' to 'verbose splash' so that I can see all startup transactions. It goes by very quickly as I am on an SSD.

All of that said, what can I do to fix my plymouth-start.service? If it is not needed, I suppose that it could be disabled? I haven't noticed any problems even though it fails to start. If it is needed, how can I repair it?

Thanks very much for any help!

Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin

Re: Plymouth-start.service failed...

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 14 Jul 2015 03:39

Hi Oxonsi, and welcome to our forums!

Plymouth is just eye-candy. It should show the SolydXK logo while booting. Unfortunately it doesn't always work. The current stable version doesn't seem to work in VirtualBox and it was reported that it doesn't start on some systems either.

You can disable it with the Debian Plymouth Manager (search for plymouth in the start menu), select the bottom item "None: no plymouth splash" and hit the "Set Plymouth Theme" button. You can also remove "splash" from your boot parameters in /etc/default/grub. If you do so you'll need to run

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
afterward.

SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

Oxonsi

Postby Oxonsi » 14 Jul 2015 05:22

Thanks very much for the quick reply and easy fix.

Very nice distro!

palimmo

Postby palimmo » 14 Jul 2015 12:44