Safe steps before installing Linux in dual boot

New to SolydXK? This is the place to start.
Please check the other subforums to see if there's a more suitable place for your question.
palimmo

Safe steps before installing Linux in dual boot

Postby palimmo » 26 May 2016 18:31

Hi.
Pretty soon I would like to install Linux on my girlfirend's laptop.
This laptop (Lenovo Z51, 8GB ram, Intel i5, SSD 250GB) runs Windows 10 (originally Win 8, upgraded to 10).

Although I can say I have now a little bit of experience installing linux in dual boot with Win, this time I am really scared of corrupting her brand new laptop :D
Therefore, before starting with the installing procedure using a live media (e.g. USB stick), I was wondering if it is possible to create a perfect copy of her SSD in case something goes wrong, so that I can recover her win10 installation and leave no trace.
I think Clonezilla should be the right software, but I have never used it before.

Could you please give me some hints?
Thanks!

Present status:
- laptop with Win10 installed (therefore I suppose UEFI system)
Goal:
- laptop with dual boot Win10+Linux
Proud user of SolydK!

Dai diamanti non nasce niente, dal letame nascono i fior. http://aquilone.wordpress.com/

kurotsugi

Re: Safe steps before installing Linux in dual boot

Postby kurotsugi » 26 May 2016 18:57

+1 clonezilla. as long as the boot partition which contain related .efi files is not modified then we can expect the migration would be smooth. as additional precautions I tends to get the disk partition list (it's important since windows sometimes have some hidden partition. simply leave them as it is) and defrag all visible partitions (if the system is using >25 % of disk capacity, having a defrag will ensure our data integrity and the re-partition step trouble-free).

palimmo

Postby palimmo » 26 May 2016 20:08

clonezilla: should I create an image or clone the partition? What's the difference?
Proud user of SolydK!