sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Questions specific to the Xfce DE go here
zaphod1
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Jul 2013 11:44

sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby zaphod1 » 22 Sep 2013 16:07

Looking for some troubleshooting tips.

System:
AMD FX(tm)-8120 Eight-Core Processor, 16gb ram
SolydX (xfce) updated to latest monthly
AUDIO :
VIA VT2020
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: VT2020 Analog [VT2020 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: VT2020 Digital [VT2020 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 2: VT2020 Alt Analog [VT2020 Alt Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Hardeware is ok since I dual-boot into LMDE-Xfce and sound is fine.

Symptoms:
- Loss of sound , loss of mixer-control.
Something has chanaged since the mixer controls on all my SolydX
systems (no sound problems on others) has changed to Alsa Mixer.
Prolem solving steps:
- rebooted sever times since last monthly update with no problems.
- rebooted yesterday - loss of sound, checked mixer control,
noticed it was different. Rebooted, still no sound, but segfault
when launching sound mixer (from system log output).
- tried uninstalling and resinstalling pulseaudio - now no mixer icon in tray.
- tried removing pulseaudio using these steps:
1 Open a terminal session, type "sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio" and press "Enter."
2 Type "sudo apt-get autoremove" and press "Enter."
3 Type "sudo apt-get install alsa-base alsa-tools alsa-tools-gui alsa-utils alsa-oss linux-sound-base alsamixergui" and press "Enter."
4 Type "sudo apt-get install esound esound-clients esound-common libesd-alsa0 gnome-alsamixer" and press "Enter."
5 Reboot your computer for the changes to take effect.
Still no audio.
- googled - Closest I can get to problem. Found this:
Bug:440182 - " xfce-extra/xfce4-mixer-4.10.0 panel plugin doesn't play nice with pulseaudio " status:UNCONFIRMED resolution: severity:normal at: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=440182.

- Stuck here right now. Wouldn't mind dropping back to Alsa. Anything that works.

Any help appeciated,

Murray

User avatar
tuxic
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Sep 2013 10:31

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby tuxic » 26 Sep 2013 17:06

I have a system very similar to your and I'm stuck with no sound.

User avatar
tuxic
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Sep 2013 10:31

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby tuxic » 26 Sep 2013 17:10

just the output of inxi:
oscar@solydx-box:~$ inxi
CPU~Octa core AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core (-MCP-) clocked at 4334.419 Mhz Kernel~3.10-2-amd64 x86_64 Up~17 min Mem~659.4/7905.0MB HDD~1120.2GB(5.1% used) Procs~226 Client~Shell inxi~1.9.14

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 28 Sep 2013 01:45

I had sound problems that came and went. I uninstalled pulse audio, and now only use Alsa Mixer. Not had any problem since.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
dyfet
Posts: 55
Joined: 05 Apr 2013 11:41
Contact:

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby dyfet » 29 Sep 2013 18:52

wisemagic wrote:I had sound problems that came and went. I uninstalled pulse audio, and now only use Alsa Mixer. Not had any problem since.
I found a rather similar issue, tied to a race between kde & pulse user mode daemon startup. So sometimes I would boot, and get no sound, unless I logged out and logged in again. One solution might have been to use pulse in system daemon mode. I found another solution that was much simpler:

In .kde/env create a "pulseaudio.sh" with:

#!/bin/sh
start-pulseaudio-x11
start-pulseaudio-kde

chmod +x ~/.kde/env/pulseaudio.sh...

In KDE startup settings, this should be set to autostart "Pre-KDE startup", which seems to be the default for a newly created script.

Of course the third option is to kill pulse entirely and just use alsa :)
Information in the computer age is the last genuine free market left on earth except those free markets where indigenous people are still surviving - Russell Means

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 29 Sep 2013 21:17

Hy dyfet, sometimes in my logs I would see warnings from Pulse, about being in user mode, and I would change to system mode and then get warnings about being in system mode. So, I don't know what Pulse wanted anymore. I uninstalled it, to see how my sound would do without it, and actually, I don't hear any difference, and I'm not having to chase down the problem of it coming and going.
Just one more thing that I don't need to load. :D
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
tuxic
Posts: 39
Joined: 24 Sep 2013 10:31

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby tuxic » 02 Oct 2013 11:08

wisemagic wrote:Hy dyfet, sometimes in my logs I would see warnings from Pulse, about being in user mode, and I would change to system mode and then get warnings about being in system mode. So, I don't know what Pulse wanted anymore. I uninstalled it, to see how my sound would do without it, and actually, I don't hear any difference, and I'm not having to chase down the problem of it coming and going.
Just one more thing that I don't need to load. :D
In my case, purge-removed pulse and problem solved. Thanks!!!

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 03 Oct 2013 00:38

Great. Glad it's working for you :D
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
dyfet
Posts: 55
Joined: 05 Apr 2013 11:41
Contact:

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby dyfet » 03 Oct 2013 09:21

tuxic wrote:In my case, purge-removed pulse and problem solved. Thanks!!!
I know sometimes that does seem like the best solution for pulse audio issues ;). Certainly it is not an invalid one either. That is freedom, lived. My point was simply that it might be solvable less drastically if one actually does want to keep pulse. I also think the issue with kde startup racing the (user mode) pulse server before it comes up is particularly prevalent on SSD. As to if pulse is itself good or bad is of course something for individual users to choose.
Information in the computer age is the last genuine free market left on earth except those free markets where indigenous people are still surviving - Russell Means

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 03 Oct 2013 14:37

I'm running Xfce, so I really don't know much about how KDE is loading services. I do know that this is not the only distro that I have encountered issues with Pulse, and in each, removing Pulse has solved the problem. If Pulse is working for you that is great. :D
My aim was to offer a solution that has worked, for me, several times in the past. I run a set of Bose desktop speakers and the generic AC97 motherboard sound chip. I've not found any significant difference, having Pulse installed. And it's not something I'll spend a lot of time on to trouble shoot. Basically I set it, and forget it. No more adjustment is needed. ;)
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
mistergil
Posts: 106
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 00:33
Location: WV

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby mistergil » 03 Oct 2013 20:20

I'm running AMD/ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) sound. Pulse doesn't seem to work nicely with the mixer control on Xfce or within VLC but it is providing sound and I can control the sound levels via the panel's audio mixer. The pulse audio controls change with the panel mixer control and will not remain set. This causes much of the sound level to be very low and nothing will raise it. If I run the alsa mixer terminal command all I get for a selection is the master with no other selection possible but when running the audio mixer from panel the selected outputs (pcm, speaker, headphones, etc.) can be adjusted but they will not remain as set. I don't want to lose sound so could someone please give me the appropriate terminal commands to totally purge pulse so that I can revert back to alsa without killing the sound totally. If it is not advisable to purge pulse please give me some suggestions to stabilize the sound output.
Reg. #439601

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 03 Oct 2013 20:28

I removed Pulse through Synaptic, and installed all of the Alsa controls I could find in synaptic.
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
mistergil
Posts: 106
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 00:33
Location: WV

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby mistergil » 04 Oct 2013 18:34

I considered doing that via Synaptic but while looking around at some different sites for guidance discovered that if some pulse deps were left that alsa wouldn't work correctly after the purge. This made me leery to do it manually as I didn't want to chance totally losing sound. :?
Reg. #439601

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 04 Oct 2013 18:39

I didn't encounter any problems with that, and, you can always put it back if you do have a problem. :D
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

User avatar
mistergil
Posts: 106
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 00:33
Location: WV

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby mistergil » 06 Oct 2013 02:24

Did as you suggested and everything worked out with all sound applications functioning correctly. :) Thanks.
Reg. #439601

User avatar
wisemagic
Posts: 303
Joined: 13 May 2013 03:05
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana USA

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby wisemagic » 06 Oct 2013 02:44

Great :D Glad I could help. ;)
E5-2690 Xeon - 16GB PC12800 DDR3 1600 Quad Channel -
Chinese HUANAN MB - GeForce GTX 960 4GB PCI Express 16X HDMI
Dual 480.0 GB SSD Corsair - Corsair H60 Liquid CPU Cooler - Blu-ray / DVD LightScribe Recorder
Debian Sid - Kernel 4.17.2-zen

rokytnji
Posts: 713
Joined: 02 Oct 2013 01:51

Re: sound loss, MIxer controll loss

Postby rokytnji » 06 Oct 2013 11:29

Since I run Debian Testing in other Distros besides Solydxk. This fix applied to alsamixer not opening for me as regular user but would open as root only. Also another fix I incorporated to tell my kernel to only load alsa and nothing else.

Kernel fix
http://steamcommunity.com/app/24420/dis ... 155218006/

Alsamixer fix
http://www.mariusv.com/cannot-open-alsamixer/

Disclaimer: What necessarily works for me on my gear and my installs may not work for you so take my post with a grain of salt.

Happy Trails, Rok


Return to “Xfce specific (SolydX)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests