Some issues with the newest SolydK 20130823

Questions specific to the KDE DE go here
Cigam

Some issues with the newest SolydK 20130823

Postby Cigam » 25 Aug 2013 22:42

I am new to this distro but really like the idea of a rolling release and I love the KDE desktop, so am looking forward to a long use of this distro. But my first issue is I had a friends desktop that had Netrunner 12.10 installed on it, and I went through the SolydK setup andjust assigned the / directory for it to format while installing, but it had a grub error. So I restarted, and in the installer menu I picked edit partitions and formatted the / partition and left the home partition alone, and went through the install and this time it worked, but when I had rebooted to boot into the system it said no bootable device found.... After some research I noticed that the / partition did NOT have the "boot" flag enabled. Once I enabled the boot flag it worked perfectly fine. So you need to have it set the boot flag otherwise it probably wont work when doing an install like that.

Second issue is it changed my firefox setup in the home directory and I had to manually recreate the profile.ini file, but it also looks like the bookmarks are gone, but I could be wrong on that I am going to be doing another install later on a newer laptop and see if I have similar issues, but I wanted to at least point out that boot flag issue. Becuase non tech people would not have been able to figure it out.

I really look forward to this distro but I think I will have some program requests later. like solaar http://www.webupd8.org/2013/07/pair-unp ... vices.html and the netflix pipelight http://www.webupd8.org/2013/08/pipeligh ... linux.html Other than that I need to research more but your distro seems to include nearly all I need.

Cheers

ScottQuier

Re: Some issues with the newest SolydK 20130823

Postby ScottQuier » 26 Aug 2013 11:18