Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Questions specific to the KDE DE go here
User avatar
sumitb
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 03:44
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby sumitb » 19 Feb 2014 08:29

Guys,

I am not trying to compare any other distro, but just noticed that Kubuntu Trusty's last night's build switched to the new Network Manager plasma applet. It looks kinda nice and functional. Is there any chance of getting it in next UP? 8-)

Below is a screenshot of the same:

Image
Machine: Lenovo G580, Corei5-3210M, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM, Intel HD4000, Seagate 500GB HDD, Intel HD-ALC269VC Audio, Broadcom BCM4313 WLAN, Atheros AR8162 LAN, Broadcom BCM20702A0 BT

OS: SolydK x64, SolydX x64 in VB
Alt OS: Windows 8.1 x64


User avatar
sumitb
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 03:44
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby sumitb » 04 Mar 2014 15:22

Fedora 20 also switched to it and its looking awesome :) I hope it arrives soon in Debian repos!
Machine: Lenovo G580, Corei5-3210M, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM, Intel HD4000, Seagate 500GB HDD, Intel HD-ALC269VC Audio, Broadcom BCM4313 WLAN, Atheros AR8162 LAN, Broadcom BCM20702A0 BT

OS: SolydK x64, SolydX x64 in VB
Alt OS: Windows 8.1 x64


User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby zerozero » 04 Mar 2014 18:01

ok :) now i understand :lol:
the plasma-NM-applet that you mention here is this http://ltinkl.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/fi ... lease.html
(also covered here http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n ... px=MTQ1ODg on sept last year)
it is at the moment available in sid

Code: Select all

zerozero@home ~ $ apt policy plasma-nm
plasma-nm:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 0.9.3.2-3
  Version table:
     0.9.3.2-3 0
         50 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
i will certainly give it a try
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
sumitb
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 03:44
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby sumitb » 04 Mar 2014 19:43

No no, the one i am talking about is this:

http://i61.tinypic.com/b53cic.jpg

I have fedora 20 in VB with testing repos enabled. I got this today after updating. Yum.log shows these entries:

Code: Select all

Mar 04 21:45:02 Updated: 1:libnm-qt-0.9.9.1-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:18 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-pptp-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-vpnc-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-openvpn-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-l2tp-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-openconnect-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Mar 04 21:45:41 Updated: kde-plasma-nm-openswan-0.9.3.3-1.fc20.x86_64
Machine: Lenovo G580, Corei5-3210M, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM, Intel HD4000, Seagate 500GB HDD, Intel HD-ALC269VC Audio, Broadcom BCM4313 WLAN, Atheros AR8162 LAN, Broadcom BCM20702A0 BT

OS: SolydK x64, SolydX x64 in VB
Alt OS: Windows 8.1 x64


User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby zerozero » 04 Mar 2014 23:08

it's the same application :)
as you can see in the first link in my other post the name in fedora is a little different
Fedora[1], among others (Kubuntu, openSUSE), already contains a preview snapshot of the applet, with the update to the final version in the works.

Alternatively, you can grab those 3 tarballs and compile by yourself:

http://download.kde.org/unstable/modemm ... 5.0.tar.xz
http://download.kde.org/unstable/networ ... 9.0.tar.xz
http://download.kde.org/unstable/plasma ... 3.0.tar.xz




[1] $ yum install kde-plasma-nm
in the end only the version from experimental worked somehow
snapshot2.png
conclusion: it's already packaged in debian (which is the hardest part), let's see how long until it lands in testing
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
wyrdoak
Posts: 113
Joined: 07 Jan 2014 21:25

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby wyrdoak » 04 Mar 2014 23:57

Looks like it did land in Manjaro in the last update, Yes, I playing around with others:oops: :o :lol: But it was just so purdy I had to try it out.
URL
https://projects.kde.org/projects/playg ... /plasma-nm
Version
0.9.3.3-1
Licenses
GPL
Depends On
kdebase-workspace libnm-qt
Optional Deps
mobile-broadband-provider-info: Database of mobile broadband service providers [installed]
openconnect: Cisco AnyConnect VPN plugin
Conflicts With
kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement
Download Size
0.00 KB
Installed Size
3821.00 KB
Packager
Andrea Scarpino <andrea@archlinux.org>
Architecture
i686
Build Date
Wed - 26/02/2014 15:09:15
Attachments
snapshot1.png
snapshot1.png (57.73 KiB) Viewed 2719 times

Acer Aspire One AO532h; CPU Atom n450 1.66Gh: 2GB RAM, duel boot with Win7: SolydK32

User avatar
sumitb
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 03:44
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby sumitb » 05 Mar 2014 04:45

Nice... So we'll be having it pretty soon. Based on my experience with it on Fedora VM, its quite stable in its current avatar. :)
Machine: Lenovo G580, Corei5-3210M, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM, Intel HD4000, Seagate 500GB HDD, Intel HD-ALC269VC Audio, Broadcom BCM4313 WLAN, Atheros AR8162 LAN, Broadcom BCM20702A0 BT

OS: SolydK x64, SolydX x64 in VB
Alt OS: Windows 8.1 x64


User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby Orbmiser » 05 Mar 2014 19:03

But does it show me where the nearest CAP's (Coffee Access Points) are? That's critical! :P
Yep expect to see in April update and would welcome it.
As well as a replacement to that ugly Calendar popup for digital clock.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

RcyberN
Posts: 62
Joined: 04 Dec 2013 12:57

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby RcyberN » 06 Mar 2014 02:32

Just to add to the conversation, I got the applet today by chance while on my quest to learn more about Debian. I have Testing installed on a partition. I added the unstable repo today after a clean update and dist-upgrade (using testing repos only). Afterwards, I pinned and installed chromium and chromium inspector successfully from unstable.

With chromium, I received the applet and a few other packages. I noticed the additional packages as I installed chromium. I saw change to the applet when I went to connect to a VPN. Then....I came across this post. :)

Code: Select all

user@debian:~$ apt-cache  policy plasma-nm
plasma-nm:
  Installed: 0.9.3.2-3
  Candidate: 0.9.3.2-3
  Version table:
 *** 0.9.3.2-3 0
        300 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
And this is my attempt at finding what all installed from unstable after adding chromium:

Code: Select all

user@debian:~$ aptitude search '~S ~i (!~Atesting ~Aunstable)'
i   chromium                                            - Google's open source chromium web browser                    
i A chromium-inspector                                  - page inspector for the chromium browser                      
i A icedtea-netx                                        - NetX - implementation of the Java Network Launching Protocol 
i A icedtea-netx-common                                 - NetX - implementation of the Java Network Launching Protocol 
i A plasma-nm                                           - Network Management widget for KDE Plasma workspaces          
i A plasma-widget-networkmanagement                     - Transitional package for plasma-nm                           
user@debian:~$ 
Just sharing for the sake of it.

Still learning... :)

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby zerozero » 06 Mar 2014 16:01

RcyberN wrote:Still learning...
;) we all are :P
just a couple notes re. this:
- in my experience that value for sid (300) is too high; it allows some packages (but not others, never could understand the difference) to update from sid even if you don't explicitly want it.
- plasma-nm shouldn't update from sid because you updated chromium;
- here http://forums.solydxk.nl/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2769 i found out that i had to lower that value to 50 to have exactly the behavior i wanted.
bliss of ignorance

kurotsugi
Posts: 2240
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby kurotsugi » 06 Mar 2014 16:11

it's already on testing :3

Code: Select all

kurotsugi@kurozv3:~$ apt-cache policy plasma-nm
plasma-nm:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 0.9.3.2-3
  Version table:
     0.9.3.2-3 0
        500 http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/ testing/main amd64 Packages
        150 http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages

RcyberN
Posts: 62
Joined: 04 Dec 2013 12:57

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby RcyberN » 06 Mar 2014 18:00

zerozero wrote:
RcyberN wrote:Still learning...
;) we all are :P
just a couple notes re. this:
- in my experience that value for sid (300) is too high; it allows some packages (but not others, never could understand the difference) to update from sid even if you don't explicitly want it.
- plasma-nm shouldn't update from sid because you updated chromium;
- here http://forums.solydxk.nl/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2769 i found out that i had to lower that value to 50 to have exactly the behavior i wanted.
Thanks for the info ZZ. I made the change to the value. In hindsight I now realize checking for a clean update/dist-upgrade after adding unstable to source.list and creating a preferences file would have been prudent before installing chromium. ;)

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby zerozero » 06 Mar 2014 22:39

RcyberN wrote:Thanks for the info ZZ
you're welcome :)

on-topic: i see that plasma-nm traveled fast :lol: it will be in april's UP this way.
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby Orbmiser » 06 Mar 2014 23:12

zerozero wrote: on-topic: i see that plasma-nm traveled fast :lol: it will be in april's UP this way.
Yay!!!! :P
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby fleabus » 07 Mar 2014 01:54

Temp-enabled deb testing and grabbed it. I like! Workee good! :D

User avatar
sumitb
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jan 2014 03:44
Location: Jakarta - Indonesia

Re: Switch to new Plasma NetworkManager applet?

Postby sumitb » 08 Mar 2014 04:11

zerozero wrote:
RcyberN wrote:Thanks for the info ZZ
you're welcome :)

on-topic: i see that plasma-nm traveled fast :lol: it will be in april's UP this way.
Yeehaw! Nice!!! :)

Thanks a lot!
Machine: Lenovo G580, Corei5-3210M, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM, Intel HD4000, Seagate 500GB HDD, Intel HD-ALC269VC Audio, Broadcom BCM4313 WLAN, Atheros AR8162 LAN, Broadcom BCM20702A0 BT

OS: SolydK x64, SolydX x64 in VB
Alt OS: Windows 8.1 x64



Return to “KDE specific (SolydK)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest