hdmi

Questions about SolydX and SolydK installation.
User avatar
whatsvictory
Posts: 43
Joined: 11 Aug 2013 07:50
Location: Appalachia, USA

hdmi

Postby whatsvictory » 31 Jan 2017 07:55

I have a Dell laptop with a broken screen that I have been using via HDMI on a tv. It currently has Windows 10 installed which is killing me. If install Solyd will the HDMI work right away?

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9310
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: hdmi

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 31 Jan 2017 08:04

I'd recommend to test it live first: download the latest ISO and write that to a pen drive. When you boot from the pen drive you can check whether or not your setup will work with SolydXK.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
xendistar
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Jun 2014 08:17
Location: Bournemouth, UK

Re: hdmi

Postby xendistar » 31 Jan 2017 20:31

While I would agree with what Schoelje said I have a Fujitsu Laptop (about 15 months old) which had a damaged screen, it is now running SolydX via a 19" external monitor although in my case this is via a VGA port and not HDMI. The only (minor) issue I had was the first time I started the laptop and that was finding the correct combination of Fn keys to output to an external monitor. My wife uses the Laptop on a daily basis and has had no issue using the laptop with this setup.

I eventually went the whole hog and removed LCD screen but still retained the lid to act as a dust cover over the keyboard.

kurotsugi
Posts: 2234
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: hdmi

Postby kurotsugi » 01 Feb 2017 00:21

as long as you're not using nvidia or intel graphic, the hdmi port will work.

SolydForEver
Posts: 342
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: hdmi

Postby SolydForEver » 01 Feb 2017 20:55

kurotsugi wrote:as long as you're not using nvidia or intel graphic, the hdmi port will work.
It only works with AMD graphics? Not with Nvidia and not with Intel? arrow choice. How come?
I will test this this coming weekend when I connect my laptop to my TV using HDMI. No idea if it works, never tried it, always used the default laptop screen, or my desktop computer the DVI connected screen.

User avatar
whatsvictory
Posts: 43
Joined: 11 Aug 2013 07:50
Location: Appalachia, USA

Re: hdmi

Postby whatsvictory » 01 Feb 2017 22:39

Thank you for your replies. I gave up because I can not access the boot menu :( the hdmi won't display until windows has already started the boot process. For now I will just keep it as a windows game center in my Tv room :)

kurotsugi
Posts: 2234
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: hdmi

Postby kurotsugi » 02 Feb 2017 00:09

what I mean was "amd and nvidia". nvidia require propietary driver while amd chips depends on the hardware and the driver. slightly newer hardware mostly works out of the box. intel will work OOTB as usual unless you're using newest chips.

sorry for the confusion.

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2521
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: hdmi

Postby ilu » 02 Feb 2017 01:06

So you can't access the bios without a working screen and there is nothing else but hdmi? And hdmi doesn't get initialized with bootup? That sucks.
There are a lot of threads about similar problems but there does not seem to be a solution.

J.Jay
Posts: 126
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 18:00
Location: Bentonville ar

Re: hdmi

Postby J.Jay » 03 Feb 2017 02:29

If the HDMI don't work/give option for hooked up TV using 'solydxk 8 (based on 'Debian Stable) TRY using a EE comunity edition (based on debian 'testing)
Mine works on the EE edition but not the stable one (might be able to install a newer kernel to use?) :idea:

J.Jay

User avatar
escolar
Posts: 133
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 08:14
Location: Spain

Re: hdmi

Postby escolar » 04 Feb 2017 09:38

I have an hp stream with this card

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.07hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Bay Trail GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
I can set de video out to the HDMI, but I can't send de sound to the hdmi, so I can't watch movies on the TV (well I can watch but not listening)

J.Jay
Posts: 126
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 18:00
Location: Bentonville ar

Re: hdmi

Postby J.Jay » 05 Feb 2017 01:57

Sorry though the 'HDMI' video (like mine) was not working :?
If the Audio there isn't working you MAY want to try a newer kernel

I needed a newer kernal for the video output of the HDMI so don't know if the audio was working :?

J.Jay
P.S. I use the 'Liquorix' kernel

User avatar
whatsvictory
Posts: 43
Joined: 11 Aug 2013 07:50
Location: Appalachia, USA

Re: hdmi

Postby whatsvictory » 05 Feb 2017 06:06

It seems I found a accidental solution ;) I bricked my my phone and to unbrick it I had to install a driver and had to figure out disable the driver signature enforcement via command line in Windows 10 because I could not use the GUI due to the HDMI issue making the recovery options not accessible on my monitor/TV. As it turns out it fixed my HDMI issue as well. I now have BIOS on boot over HDMI on a Dell Inspiron 3521 with Intel HD 4000 graphics.

I ran via admin cmd:

Code: Select all

bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON
http://www.drivethelife.com/windows-dri ... html#part3

Rebooted and BOOM I had BIOS over HDMI :)

The lower right of my desktop now shows:
Attachments
tmp_30230-TestModeBIOS-425520472.JPG
tmp_30230-TestModeBIOS-425520472.JPG (10.22 KiB) Viewed 2057 times


Return to “Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests