Page 1 of 1

live installer freezing

Posted: 09 Mar 2019 17:25
by bennypr0fane
The SolydK live installer isn't working for me, it displays the splash screen and then freezes in the foreground
Screenshot_20190309_170525.png
Screenshot_20190309_170525.png (56.55 KiB) Viewed 3822 times
Here's the terminal output:

Code: Select all

solydxk@solydxk:~$ live-installer
Gtk-Message: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
Executing: cat /proc/cmdline
Executing: ps -ef | grep -v grep | grep 'python3' | grep 'gtk_interface.py' | awk '{print $2}'
Executing: head -n 1 /etc/debian_version | sed 's/[a-zA-Z]/0/' 2>/dev/null || echo 0
Executing: logname
--------------------->>> Setup information init <<<---------------------
Live Setup
Debian version: 9.8
Logged user: solydxk
Target directory: /target
Debian frontend: DEBIAN_FRONTEND=noninteractive
apt options: --assume-yes --quiet --allow-downgrades --allow-remove-essential --allow-change-held-packages -o Dpkg::Options::=--force-confmiss -o Dpkg::Options::=--force-confnew
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Executing: pidof xfce4-session
Command 'pidof xfce4-session' returned non-zero exit status 1
Executing: geoipupdate
It just hangs there.

I ran geoipupdate in a separate tab to see what was going on there:

Code: Select all

solydxk@solydxk:~$ geoipupdate
Can't open /var/lib/GeoIP/GeoLite2-City.mmdb.gz

Re: live installer freezing

Posted: 09 Mar 2019 18:00
by Arjen Balfoort
I cannot reproduce that.

Did you verify your download before you tried to run the ISO?

If you did, you can try to disable your internet connection before you run the Live Installer.

Re: live installer freezing

Posted: 10 Mar 2019 22:42
by bennypr0fane
Yes, I used gpg signature to verify the download, it turned out correct.
Disabling the internet connection allowed me to launch the installer, then everything worked fine.
Why would the presence of an internet connection interfere with the installer?

Re: live installer freezing

Posted: 11 Mar 2019 09:13
by Arjen Balfoort
It shouldn't. Like I said: I cannot reproduce that.
I suspect there was a glitch with the geoipupdate server, but I cannot confirm that.