[SOLVED] Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Questions about SolydX and SolydK installation.
SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

[SOLVED] Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 02 Jan 2020 16:52

Hi all and happy New Year,

After installing SolydK10 I now sometimes have the problem that the desktop is frozen, meaning icons can not be chosen nor used to start a program. If I start a program from the panel, or the menu, it works as always, it's just that the desktop is frozen.
I have installed a new program which should place an icon on the desktop, which it doesn't do now. In the folder ~/Desktop a new item appears with a wrong picture, a wrong name but with the extension .desktop. It is not shown on the desktop itself, which is set to Folder view.
I can change preferences on the desktop.

Yesterday I thought I found the culprit, but not, it wasn't it. I saw I had installed both the 304 and the 340 Nvidia driver. Inxi -G told me I used the 340. I then uninstalled everything from Nvidia so the computer is using the Nouveau driver and yesterday things were good afterwards. Now, I switch it on and the same happened again.

Who has an idea what this could be?

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2682
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby ilu » 03 Jan 2020 16:32

SolydForEver wrote:
02 Jan 2020 16:52
I have installed a new program which should place an icon on the desktop, which it doesn't do now. In the folder ~/Desktop a new item appears with a wrong picture, a wrong name but with the extension .desktop. It is not shown on the desktop itself, which is set to Folder view.
I don't understand this. Which program?
SolydForEver wrote:
02 Jan 2020 16:52
I saw I had installed both the 304 and the 340 Nvidia driver. Inxi -G told me I used the 340. I then uninstalled everything from Nvidia so the computer is using the Nouveau driver and yesterday things were good afterwards. Now, I switch it on and the same happened again.
You switch what on?
At least post inxi -Fxz result. Don't talk about inxi -G - post the output.

SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 03 Jan 2020 16:58

Hello ilu,
Sorry for the not complete post but I am in a hurry to get things ready. I'm working on my neighbors computer and they are coming home tomorrow.

Where I wrote: when I switch it on, I meant the computer

The new program I was talking about which did not place an icon on the desktop is called CEWE Fotoservice, but I guess every new installed program would be prohibited to place an icon on the desktop, since it is frozen.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
System:
  Host: solydxk-carry Kernel: 4.19.0-6-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 8.3.0 
  Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.14.5 Distro: solydxk-10 10 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: SAMSUNG product: R530/R730/P530 v: N/A serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: SAMSUNG model: R530/R730/P530 serial: <filter> BIOS: Phoenix 
  v: 04KQ.M007.20100621.KSJ date: 06/21/2010 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT1 charge: 37.7 Wh condition: 38.9/48.8 Wh (80%) model: SAMSUNG Electronics 
  status: Unknown 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5 M 480 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Nehalem 
  rev: 5 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 21281 
  Speed: 1488 MHz min/max: 1199/2667 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1380 2: 1299 3: 1342 
  4: 1404 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GT218M [GeForce 310M] vendor: Samsung Co driver: nouveau v: kernel 
  bus ID: 02:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1600x900~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: NVA8 v: 3.3 Mesa 18.3.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio 
  vendor: Samsung Co R730 Laptop driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-2: NVIDIA High Definition Audio vendor: Samsung Co driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 02:00.1 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-6-amd64 
Network:
  Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: Foxconn T77H121.05 802.11bgn driver: ath9k v: kernel port: 2000 
  bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Marvell Yukon Optima 88E8059 [PCIe Gigabit Ethernet with AVB] 
  vendor: Samsung Co driver: sky2 v: 1.30 port: 5000 bus ID: 07:00.0 
  IF: enp7s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 465.76 GiB used: 82.29 GiB (17.7%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: HM500JI size: 465.76 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 24.48 GiB used: 7.67 GiB (31.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
  ID-2: /home size: 428.90 GiB used: 74.61 GiB (17.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3 
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 60.0 C mobo: 60.0 C gpu: nouveau temp: 55 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 189 Uptime: 7m Memory: 3.72 GiB used: 1.21 GiB (32.6%) Init: systemd 
  runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 8.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.3 inxi: 3.0.32 
I am now using the Nouveau driver, but the Nvidia 340 driver gives the same result.
When the frozen state started I could re-login and it would be good again, but now it also doesn't do that. Icons are and stay frozen. One click does not select them, double-click does not start the connected program.
Icons in the panel work, icons in the start menu work, only those on the desktop do not.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9479
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 03 Jan 2020 17:50

Did you try to make a new user and see if that solves the issue?


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 03 Jan 2020 18:03

Hello Arjen,

I did not but I do now and after the first start-up it looks good: I can add an icon from an installed program to the desktop and select it to start the program. Am rebooting now to see if it is not just a coincidence.

Question: if things stay the way they should, what is the best (easiest) way to continue? My neighbor obviously wants an account with her name, but that one is probably broken. Should I delete her account and add a new one with the same name, or what is the best way to do this?

Also the second boot works fine. Do you have any idea what might cause this to happen, or should I just forget about that and re-create her account?

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2682
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby ilu » 03 Jan 2020 20:54

You could try to compare the 2 profiles, see where they differ. Start with the desktop and the .config folder and don't forget to look at permissions too. I have successfully recovered broken profiles in the past by selectively copying from a working backup. That was XFCE though.

I've had weird results with that CEWE stuff in the past. I'm not saying its causing the problem. Just that its not the most carefully programmed software. Did you install it system-wide or per user? (I'm guessing per user.) If you install it for the new user, does the profile stay working?

As for the user name: you can change it after you've got everything in working order, see here https://linuxtechlab.com/rename-user-in ... directory/. There are a lot of tutorials on it, you can probably find one more specific to debian. Read around a bit.

SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 04 Jan 2020 06:07

Good morning,
As stated before I followed Arjen's advice and created a new user, which worked fine. I then somehow managed to screw up the renaming of the accounts. Ilu, I also found the website you mentioned, thank you for that, I also found another one describing the same thing. Still, I managed to screw up. So, I decided to re-install. All was well till I installed the CEWE program, only for the current user (in the /home partition) and then things went sour again. The icons the desktop froze after a boot and a reboot. Just logging out and in again revived them.
The CEWE program also doesn't work well, I get a bunch of messages saying translations could not be found and more stuff about language problems. The main screen does not start now, something I need to fix cause it is a program she uses. Below I add the errors and start-up messages I get.
I do install the Dutch regionalized version of SolydK. When booting the ISO I choose the 2nd option, choose the correct language and install. Do I need to do something after the install regarding the language settings?
When I type locale, I get this:

Code: Select all

LANG=nl_NL.UTF-8
LANGUAGE=
LC_TPE=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_TIME=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_NAME=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=nl_NL.UTF-8
LC_ALL=
Is this correct, or does LANGUAGE also needs to be the same as all others? What about the last one, LC_ALL?
(this is the reason my computers always use the original english version of software, I hate to play around with these settings)

CEWE errors and start-up messages:

Code: Select all

"./CEWE Fotoservice" 
I (2020-01-03T23:55:04.681) [void CWLogMessageHandler::writeLogHeader() 236] ==> Compiled: Nov  6 2019 10:05:03 <==
[0103/235505.180282:WARNING:resource_bundle_qt.cpp(116)] locale_file_path.empty() for locale 
Qt WebEngine ICU data not found at /home/username/CEWE/resources_qt/resources. Trying parent directory...
Installed Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location /home/username/CEWE/translations/qtwebengine_locales. Trying application directory...
Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location /home/carry/CEWE/qtwebengine_locales. Trying fallback directory... Translations MAY NOT not be correct.
Path override failed for key ui::DIR_LOCALES and path '/home/username/.QtWebEngineProcess'
Qt WebEngine resources not found at /home/carry/CEWE/resources_qt/resources. Trying parent directory...
[0103/235505.208337:WARNING:resource_bundle_qt.cpp(116)] locale_file_path.empty() for locale 
CEWE Fotoservice: ../nouveau/pushbuf.c:723: nouveau_pushbuf_data: Controletest 'kref' faalt.
Received signal 6
#0 0x7f198834eccf <unknown>
#1 0x7f198834f0cb <unknown>
#2 0x7f198834f74e <unknown>
#3 0x7f1990e1d840 <unknown>
#4 0x7f1990e1d7bb gsignal
#5 0x7f1990e08535 abort
#6 0x7f1990e0840f <unknown>
#7 0x7f1990e16102 __assert_fail
#8 0x7f1981c4559f nouveau_pushbuf_data
#9 0x7f1981c45503 nouveau_pushbuf_data
#10 0x7f1981c4562f <unknown>
#11 0x7f1981c45a7f <unknown>
#12 0x7f1981c46670 nouveau_pushbuf_kick
#13 0x7f1981fd5db6 <unknown>
#14 0x7f198223c46e <unknown>
#15 0x7f198223c4e0 <unknown>
#16 0x7f19855bc530 <unknown>
#17 0x7f19855bc74b <unknown>
#18 0x7f199157d793 QObject::event()
#19 0x7f1992116943 QWidget::event()
#20 0x7f19855c06fb QQuickWidget::event()
#21 0x7f198d3694f0 <unknown>
#22 0x7f19920d5b0c QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper()
#23 0x7f19920dd290 QApplication::notify()
#24 0x7f199154ede8 QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2()
#25 0x7f19915a8529 QTimerInfoList::activateTimers()
#26 0x7f19915a8db1 <unknown>
#27 0x7f1985d78f2e g_main_context_dispatch
#28 0x7f1985d791c8 <unknown>
#29 0x7f1985d7925c g_main_context_iteration
#30 0x7f19915a916f QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents()
#31 0x7f199154d17a QEventLoop::exec()
#32 0x7f19915562a4 QCoreApplication::exec()
#33 0x0000006d8ff3 CWProgramInitializerInteractiveApplication::runApplication()
#34 0x0000004cc50a main
#35 0x7f1990e0a09b __libc_start_main
#36 0x0000004ce839 _start
  r8: 0000000000000000  r9: 00007ffd24d11940 r10: 0000000000000008 r11: 0000000000000246
 r12: 00007f1981c48052 r13: 00007f1981c48068 r14: 00000000000002d3 r15: 00007ffd24d123d0
  di: 0000000000000002  si: 00007ffd24d11940  bp: 00007f1982a77ed2  bx: 0000000000000006
  dx: 0000000000000000  ax: 0000000000000000  cx: 00007f1990e1d7bb  sp: 00007ffd24d11940
  ip: 00007f1990e1d7bb efl: 0000000000000246 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000000
 trp: 0000000000000000 msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 0000000000000000
[end of stack trace]
Calling _exit(1). Core file will not be generated.
Ilu, you mentioned this software is not the most carefully programmed software. Well, I had an incident before, a few years ago, where the program needed an older library than what the OS supplied, but they fixed it. The support department is great. I really mean that.
I now have a working system, except for some settings I still have to make, but without CEWE. I will make a timeshift backup and then see if it is this program which causes the desktop to freeze.
Will report later. I would be very grateful if somebody could answer the question about the language settings.
Thanks in advance.

SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 04 Jan 2020 08:35

Hello again, well I now know this problem of the frozen icons on the desktop, or better put the frozen desktop, is not caused by the CEWE program. I don't have it installed, I don't have install files on disk, I have nothing from CEWE and again, after a fresh installation the desktop freezes at boot, and reboot. Log-out and log-in unfreezes the desktop and the icons are usable.

Who has an idea how this happens? With another user things are well, but I'm having a hard time comparing settings from both users cause when I am logged in as one user, the files belonging to the other user are locked.

Icons in the KDE panel still work as usual and also the Kmenu icons all work. It is just the desktop.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9479
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 04 Jan 2020 11:40

I usually rename ~/.config to ~/.config.bak and ~/.kde to ~/.kde.bak and reboot.
All applications will then have the default settings but I find it faster and easier to do it this way.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

SolydForEver
Posts: 357
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby SolydForEver » 04 Jan 2020 11:55

Hello,

Thank you for your answer. I should have known that, but I didn't.
Do you have any idea why the desktop freezes? It is in folder view and the icons in de folder Desktop work fine, it is just the one reflected on the desktop.
I have installed the 340 Nvidia driver hoping this would help, which it initially did but after a complete shutdown and boot it didn't.
I now switched the desktop to Desktop instead of folder view and it works, even after a shutdown, but ..... the desktop now works with single click while the rest of the computer uses double-click. I can not find a setting where I can change that. In KDE settings I chose double-click already.

The CEWE program works now, since the change to the Nvidia driver, it crashed with the Nouveau driver. Something I read on the CEWE forum and it apparently is true. So, one step forward. Now if I can find a way to make the new desktop use double-click, all is working and the neighbor can have a laptop again.

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2682
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: [SOLVED] Frozen desktop with SolydK10

Postby ilu » 05 Jan 2020 14:41

In XFCE you set the single/double click in settings - desktop - symbols but no idea whether that's the same in KDE.


Return to “Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests