Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals.
In the Original Post please also include the output of inxi -Fzx
User avatar
ScottQuier
Posts: 1781
Joined: 18 Jul 2013 15:55
Location: Newport News, VA

Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Postby ScottQuier » 12 Mar 2018 00:36

Here's the machine

Code: Select all

System:    Host: blackbox-k Kernel: 4.9.0-6-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.6 (Qt 5.7.1) dm: lightdm Distro: SolydXK
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 v: Rev 1.xx
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 2901 date: 05/04/2016
CPU:       Octa core AMD FX-8320 Eight-Core (-MCP-) cache: 16384 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 60687
           clock speeds: max: 3792 MHz 1: 3792 MHz 2: 3792 MHz 3: 3792 MHz 4: 3792 MHz 5: 3792 MHz 6: 3792 MHz
           7: 3792 MHz 8: 3792 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF106 [GeForce GTS 450] bus-ID: 07:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0dc4
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: N/A Resolution: 1600x1200@60.00hz, 1600x1200@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVC3 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GF106 High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 07:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0be9
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-6-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom Limited BCM4352 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: wl bus-ID: 09:00.0 chip-ID: 14e4:43b1
           IF: wlp9s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: b000 bus-ID: 0a:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: enp10s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (49.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST320DM000 size: 320.1GB serial: Z3TT0ZD9
Partition: ID-1: / size: 30G used: 6.4G (23%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: /home size: 249G used: 125G (53%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 17.18GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 21.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 35.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 257 Uptime: 1:07 Memory: 1449.9/15946.2MB
           Init: systemd v: 232 runlevel: 5 default: 2 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121 running in konsole) inxi: 2.3.5 
It's been sitting idle for the better part of a year - my den got turned into a storage warehouse and I physically couldn't get to it. When I power it up, of course all the CMOS settings were gone. Gotta assume the backup battery is completely discharged. I replace it and power it up again and set the CMOS parameters. Computer boots just fine. I power it down when I'm done doing what I intended (a couple of hours later) and turn off the power bar I have it plugged into.

Next day .... All the CMOS settings are gone. Same thing continues to occur for the next couple of days.

Yesterday I start up the computer and I'm working for the better part of 8 hours before I shut it down for the day.

This morning the motherboard remembers all the CMOS settings!

So the question I have to ask myself (and one I'm putting to anyone who cares to have read this far) is this, "Is there some component on the motherboard that will build a charge and hold that charge for a period of time and that also causes the CMOS settings to be retained?" I can remember there being times where the computer didn't get booted for a week or two at a time and it always booted up with the "saved" CMOS settings.
Scott
Quoting zerozero, "The usage of PPA's in debian-based
systems is risky at best and entails serious compatibility
problems; usually it's the best way to destroy an install"

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1487
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Postby MAYBL8 » 12 Mar 2018 02:13

There is a battery in there that needs replaced.
It is possible with you turning the power back on the battery is holding a charge for a little while before running out of charge.


User avatar
ScottQuier
Posts: 1781
Joined: 18 Jul 2013 15:55
Location: Newport News, VA

Re: Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Postby ScottQuier » 12 Mar 2018 10:20

MAYBL8 wrote:There is a battery in there that needs replaced.
It is possible with you turning the power back on the battery is holding a charge for a little while before running out of charge.
I know about the large(ish) backup battery. On my, and most other,. motherboards this is a CR2032. This was replaced. Are you referring to another battery?
Scott
Quoting zerozero, "The usage of PPA's in debian-based
systems is risky at best and entails serious compatibility
problems; usually it's the best way to destroy an install"

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1487
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Postby MAYBL8 » 12 Mar 2018 10:50

No
That is the one I was talking about.


User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2072
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Desktop not used for 1 year, forgets CMOS but not any more?

Postby ilu » 12 Mar 2018 14:06

ScottQuier wrote:... my den got turned into a storage warehouse and I physically couldn't get to it...
I'm so glad I'm not the only one with that problem. :ugeek:


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests