Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals.
In the Original Post please also include the output of inxi -Fzx
User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby amnesix » 15 May 2019 16:14

I just bought a new machine. The graphic is, on the paper and in fact as Sapphire RADEON RX 570 8Gb Nitro+.

The puzzle is following : inxi tells me something other : it sees a Radeon RX 470 / 480.

Is it normal ?

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: bigleon Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.30) Distro: SolydXK
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: PRIME B450M-A v: Rev X.0x
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: 1002 date: 03/07/2019
CPU:       Octa core AMD Ryzen 7 1700X Eight-Core (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 54292
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 3000 MHz 2: 3000 MHz 3: 3400 MHz
           4: 3400 MHz 5: 2200 MHz 6: 2200 MHz 7: 3000 MHz 8: 3400 MHz
           9: 2200 MHz 10: 2200 MHz 11: 2200 MHz 12: 2200 MHz 13: 3000 MHz
           14: 3400 MHz 15: 3400 MHz 16: 3400 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480]
           bus-ID: 08:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: ati,amdgpu (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,radeon)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD POLARIS10 (DRM 3.8.0 / 4.9.0-9-amd64, LLVM 3.9.1)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Device 1457
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 0a:00.3
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device aaf0
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 08:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-9-amd64
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus-ID: 07:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2480.5GB (17.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Patriot_Burst size: 480.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST2000DM008 size: 2000.4GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 16G used: 9.4G (64%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: /home size: 392G used: 359G (97%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 34.36GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: N/A mobo: N/A gpu: 31.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 0
Info:      Processes: 312 Uptime: 1:22 Memory: 2377.5/32177.1MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.5 

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9071
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Puzzling hardware ...

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 15 May 2019 18:46

This might be related to your other issue: viewtopic.php?t=7526&p=70010

My guess is that your hardware is not yet supported by some software (inxi, hwinfo).


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Puzzling hardware ...

Postby amnesix » 15 May 2019 19:02

Fun ! :)

Well, patience then ... :)

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2233
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Puzzling hardware ...

Postby ilu » 15 May 2019 21:27

There are several possible solutions:
  • Or, if you can somehow get the system to work for another 6-8 weeks, you can try to get by and wait it out. The first release candidate for Debian 10 Buster is already out. Schedule a reinstall then.
  • I know you've already tried EE but on old hardware. Your present hardware is the right situation for EE. So, install EE now and prepare for frequent updates.
  • Or install the latest EE image again and - if everythings works - hold off updating until release. I know that not updating is generally not recommended but I don't think it will matter in this case.
My recommendation: Don't fiddle with backports, new hardware needs new system - I would try to install EE.
If you encouter the thunderbird problem again have a look here: https://www.lifewire.com/fix-thunderbir ... ng-1173110

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Puzzling hardware ...

Postby amnesix » 15 May 2019 21:36

I will try (ee), and tell you about it ! :)

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2233
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Puzzling hardware ...

Postby ilu » 15 May 2019 21:37

I've updated my post. Go ahead with EE and good luck!

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ...

Postby amnesix » 16 May 2019 07:59

So I installed ee. First conclusion about my «puzzle», it is solved : My graphic card is recognized :

Code: Select all

inxi -G
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
  driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: amdgpu,ati 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Radeon RX 570 Series (POLARIS10 DRM 3.27.0 
  4.19.0-2-amd64 LLVM 7.0.1) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.4 
and, solydxk-system-settings is working as it is supposed to.

But there is a «but».

What I really want to do is unleash the power of the GPU in darktable, a software used to edit RAW files (I am a photographer), and it seems have a recognized graphic card is not enough, but this is another story, I guess.

Outside of that, ee is not ... well it is ...uh ... rough. :) I'll probably be swearing a lot. But let's see.

First question : as I launch solydxk-system-settings, it seems to tell me that I already use the proprietary driver for my graphic card, which is surprising, the more while there is apparently no «control panel» of any kind to interact with it ... so am I using the proprietary driver or not ?

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2233
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Brand new hardware ...

Postby ilu » 16 May 2019 15:12

According to inxi you are using AMDGPU, that is the correct open driver. AMD heavily cooperates in developing the open driver so it should be good for almost all purposes, gaming included. The proprietary driver AMDGPU-PRO is an overlay on top of AMDGPU that provides some high-end features. Actually, "unleash the power of the GPU in darktable" might be just one of those high-end-features ...

Let's figure out what you have now first. Are you sure you read solydxk-system correctly? If yes, I guess the information in solydxk-system-settings is wrong, at least it doesn't correlate to the inxi information. Arjen, do you consider amdgpu proprietary? It's not.

But also inxi can be wrong because it's reading the xorg-configuration. What does xrandr --listproviders say?

I don't think there is a control panel for amdgpu but I'm not sure because I used it only for a short time. You have to use the xorg-settings.

Edit: Don't do this now - first figure out the actual driver situation now to help debugging solydxk-system. Afterwards have a look at In case of troubleshooting: Will not work anymore: For darktable config: Run clinfo to check OpenCL support. Or run darktable-cltest. Your task will need some finetuning, maybe a newer kernel (which is no problem really, I run 5.0 on Debian 9).

Achja, hier https://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin/th ... -auf-Linux wird darktable mit Linux Mint ausführlich diskutiert. Das sollte genauso auch auf Debian gehen.

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ...

Postby amnesix » 16 May 2019 20:57

Code: Select all

$ randr --listproviders
Providers: number : 1
Provider 0: id: 0x5a cap: 0xf, Source Output, Sink Output, Source Offload, Sink Offload crtcs: 6 outputs: 5 associated providers: 0 name:Radeon RX 570 Series @ pci:0000:08:00.0
Attached is a screenshot that I took as I opened solydkx-system-settings for the first time
Attachments
Screenshot_2019-05-16_21-47-51.png

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ...

Postby amnesix » 17 May 2019 09:32

Achja, hier https://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin/th ... -auf-Linux wird darktable mit Linux Mint ausführlich diskutiert. Das sollte genauso auch auf Debian gehen.
Das ist hoch interessant, besonders ein Post (https://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin/th ... ost5223314). Das zeigt was theoritisch auch auf Debian funktionnieren könnte : opencl zu haben.

Da Deutsch weder meine Muttersprache noch die lingua franca auf dem Forum ist, dann zurück zum English. :)

The main problem is that the .deb were made specially for Ubuntu, and for some reason can't be installed on Debian. So the guy explains how one could extract from the .debs the data that are needed, and then more or less explains where and how to install them. And then you have opencl.

The thing is : it scares me. I'm only a user.

And then, on page 2 of the same forum post, there is one user who *can* install the debs on Mint.

Question : can what is been explained on the post damage my graphic card if something goes astray, or then I only need to re-install ?

User avatar
ilu
Posts: 2233
Joined: 09 Oct 2013 12:45

Re: Brand new hardware ...

Postby ilu » 17 May 2019 14:14

I'm waiting for Arjen to explain the solydxk-system screenshot. No idea how to interpret it. I don't think it means amdgpu-pro because, as everybody says, that is only provided for Ubuntu. Also Arjen is nVidia/Intel guy so he doesn't test on AMD.
The randr output looks good. Check again with dpkg -l xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu - the output should start with "ii" which means it's installed. If anything else shows up, report back.

I have never tested openCL and I'm not giving guarantees but I haven't heard of any situation where a wrong driver could destroy your card. Worst case is reinstall. If you back up files before overwriting them (which is not necessary anyway) and write up everything you do, you can try to avoid the reinstall. This is easy to do if you use the terminal for everything because there you can copy the commands and their results and paste them in a text file while you proceed. This will also help troubleshooting or serve others if you post it here.

The best way to install would be using dpkg with the deb files like the linuxconfig link says but that will not work anymore. I have edited my previous post. Generally all people try to install the contents of the packages one by one. Make a list of the files you need - there's some disagreement about it, but I would start with what the planet3d post says.
  • Download the latest AMDGPU-PRO package and extract the debs from it, then the needed files, the planet3d-post has the commands.
  • Copy them with sudo into the directories he says (use /etc and /opt).
  • Then run the echo command he has. I think he forgot that now you need to run sudo ldconfig.
  • Last you need to add /opt/amdgpu-pro/bin to your PATH environment - we do not have pathes in /etc/environment, so arjen or grizzler, could you please advise on this? Use ~/.profile?
  • After setting the path cross fingers and reboot
Next I would update the kernel to Liquorix 5.0. If things don't work in this order updating the kernel would be the first task after reinstall.

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9071
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 17 May 2019 17:46

I have no idea, I only have Intel. So, I always have to blind code a solution.
As I understand, there are no drivers for your card?

Even inxi sees your card as a "Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480]", but I would need the correct string to even start testing the script. If there are no drivers, it should not be listed.

The bash script responsible for checking the card uses this command:

Code: Select all

lspci -nn -d 1002: | egrep -i " 3d | display | vga "
What does it return on your system?

The bash script can be found here: /usr/lib/solydxk/scripts/ddm-amd.sh
It is part of the solydxk-system package and if you know your way in bash, you could take a look at it.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

kurotsugi
Posts: 2155
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby kurotsugi » 18 May 2019 02:04

i wonder what feature need so much gpu power. i'm using old inte i3l 3xxx series on board gpu and darktable don't have any complain yet. I'm a total noobs in photography so please forgive me for the sudden intrusion

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby amnesix » 18 May 2019 05:24

Arjen,

This is the comic scene : lspci -nn -d 1002: | egrep -i " 3d | display | vga " gives me this :

Code: Select all

 08:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480] [1002:67df] (rev ef) 
But at the same time, inxi -G gives me this :

Code: Select all

  Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: amdgpu,ati 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Radeon RX 570 Series (POLARIS10 DRM 3.27.0 
  4.19.0-5-amd64 LLVM 7.0.1) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.4 
 
where yesterday I got a something different answer to the same inxi -G query :

Code: Select all

Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] 
  driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: amdgpu,ati 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Radeon RX 570 Series (POLARIS10 DRM 3.27.0 
  4.19.0-2-amd64 LLVM 7.0.1) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.4 
I guess this has to do with the «ee effect», or the «amnesix» effect (legendary eternal hiker who keeps stumbling about without really understaning anything about what happens around him) ...

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby amnesix » 18 May 2019 05:48

kurotsugi,

I use darktable to process my RAW pictures. And I'm working at a project who could possibly lead me to have literally hundreds of RAWs to process in batch. So, more power is (probably) better that less.

And I learned about what GPU can do (for instance here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmMRXs2NB9s)

So, i'm interested. Who would not be ? ;)

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9071
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 18 May 2019 11:58

According to this site you have a:
Polaris 20, which is a refreshed (14 nm LPP process) Polaris 10 with higher clocks, used for "Radeon RX 570" and "Radeon RX 580"-branded graphics cards
but lspci and inxi give ambiguous results.
At the moment I cannot do much. However, when looking for a solution I found a bug in the ddm-amd.sh script. So, I'm updating the package and after I tested it I'll upload it to our repository.

@amnesix
Could you post back the output of:

Code: Select all

sudo lspci -v -s $(lspci -nn -d 1002: | egrep -i " 3d | display | vga " | awk '{print $1}')


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby amnesix » 18 May 2019 15:48

I'll tell if I see a difference. :) And thank you !

kurotsugi
Posts: 2155
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby kurotsugi » 19 May 2019 00:57

that certainly interesting :3

User avatar
amnesix
Posts: 164
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 12:46
Location: Berlin (Allemagne)
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby amnesix » 19 May 2019 09:52

Code: Select all

sudo lspci -v -s $(lspci -nn -d 1002: | egrep -i " 3d | display | vga " | awk '{print $1}')
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480] (rev ef) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: Sapphire Technology Limited Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] (Nitro+ Radeon RX 570/580)
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 48
	Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
	Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=2M]
	I/O ports at e000 [size=256]
	Memory at fcf00000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
	Expansion ROM at 000c0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
	Capabilities: [48] Vendor Specific Information: Len=08 <?>
	Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
	Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
	Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
	Capabilities: [100] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
	Capabilities: [150] Advanced Error Reporting
	Capabilities: [200] #15
	Capabilities: [270] #19
	Capabilities: [2b0] Address Translation Service (ATS)
	Capabilities: [2c0] Page Request Interface (PRI)
	Capabilities: [2d0] Process Address Space ID (PASID)
	Capabilities: [320] Latency Tolerance Reporting
	Capabilities: [328] Alternative Routing-ID Interpretation (ARI)
	Capabilities: [370] L1 PM Substates
	Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
	Kernel modules: amdgpu

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 9071
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Brand new hardware ... and OpenCL

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 19 May 2019 12:21

I hoped to find something that would indicate that this is a GCN capable card, but unfortunately it doesn't.


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations


Return to “Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests