Reasons I like Linux over Windows

Talking about SolydXK, another distribution or totally off-topic but within the Rules ? It's the right place!
MAYBL8

Reasons I like Linux over Windows

Postby MAYBL8 » 01 Sep 2015 19:39

I would just like to say that I have been using LInux on my Home and Work computers for about 3 years. Outside of the obvious reasons for choosing LInux over Windows (freedom, Free as far as cost goes, etc) I would like to list some not so obvious reasons and will start off with this one.
I just bought a new HP Laptop. I had a previous HP Laptop but a completely different model.
I used Redo and Backup and made an image of the old Laptop.
I took that image and put it on the new Laptop.
With some minor tweaking like differnt names for network devices eno1 instead of eth3 and wlo1 instead of wlan1 I was up and running.
I even went from HD graphics card to a nvidia card with no problems.
You could no way do this with Windows. The video card alone would wreck the system.
Well that is my story for today.
Will enjoy hearing others.

ilu

Re: Reasons I like Linux over Windows

Postby ilu » 02 Sep 2015 00:32

Just what comes to mind:
- One-click security updates without reboot while working.
- Nearly every kind of software available and everything installed (and deiistalled) from just one source.
- Plugin my video camera and instant capture without installing or configuring any of those pesky Win drivers (this actually surprised me).

belze

Postby belze » 02 Sep 2015 08:33

you missed dmesg
we do not have a registry to fix!!!!
-------

Deleted User 2764

Postby Deleted User 2764 » 18 Sep 2015 21:35

In about 4 months I'll have been using Linux exclusively for 3 years. What I like about Linux is:

1. Easy rolling updates. No need to reinstall the OS if you want to upgrade to another version and still keep everything.
2. More secure.
3. Has everything I need in the repository.
4. GUI Desktop (I prefer KDE) is familiar, easy to use.