Introduction

Questions specific to SolydK Back Office
Schoelje
Site Admin

Introduction

Postby Schoelje » 20 Jun 2013 12:35

I'm a business consultant by trade, and have many years of experience in governance and process optimization. I ran my own business before. So, you can also ask non-technical questions.

When you post here, tell something about your business or what you want to use SolydK BO for before you ask your question. That'll make the discussion a lot easier.

Requests
Post your requests here, and mention at least these:
  • Describe which business processes it supports.
  • Maintainer's site URL.
  • Your personal experience with the software.

Remember that it the software shouldn't be branch specific, but support general business processes.

SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

mkcev

Re: Introduction

Postby mkcev » 27 Jan 2015 18:29

Hi Schoelje,

I've worked as a business consultant as well. My main functions where/is to assist with outsourcing and manufacturing in different fields, but my passion has always been in technology.

For the past 2 years almost, I've been outsourcing and testing fair-production ODM/OEM laptops and desktops. The microsoft aftermarket is enormous. The virus market is enormous! While working with a tech support company, I was almost fired at one point for mentioning linux to their customer. Of course, I had to keep my mouth shut, but this went against my principals and inspired me even more. I may or may not a huge impact in the market immediately, but if I inspire and reach one user a day - Im happy.

I feel It's unfair to those without knowledge be exploited (in most cases, someone's grandparent is being financially exploited). Of course there's always the argument that those who are hungry hunt, but in a conformist world, I feel it's my calling to expand knowledge through opensource. It's the age of information after all.