Firefox 29.0

Questions about software.
User avatar
twa
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2013 20:10
Location: flown west

Firefox 29.0

Postby twa » 02 May 2014 16:06

Hi to every one,
am on SolydX 32bit with UP 2014.04.15. Solydxk Production.
Only to let you know that I downloaded and installed FF 29.0 in my language (italian)
It runs like a rocket, no problems.
Regards

User avatar
Cory
Posts: 50
Joined: 22 Jan 2014 19:59
Location: NL mostly

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Cory » 02 May 2014 19:23

Good for you, twa!

The SolydX 32-bit I am looking at this very moment does not show the new FF yet. You downloaded and installed FF 29.0 yourself, not through SolydXK Update Manager (currently 2.1.0)?

Grts,
Cory
Are you Solyd-ified yet?


User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Orbmiser » 02 May 2014 19:33

Yep you can install on your own. But don't know how that may affect updating down the road?
May mean now have to manually install future versions on your own?

As can wait a day or a week for the official in the repo version.
As no great need or hurry to have 29 tho looking like a fresh update.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

User avatar
MoldMe
Posts: 58
Joined: 01 May 2014 09:37

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby MoldMe » 02 May 2014 19:47

Once installed (standalone), all you have to do to update Firefox is:

v28 and below -- access Help-About Firefox and click the Check for Updates button/link
v29 -- access Help-About Firefox

CrunchBang -- Siduction -- SolydBang (Openbox, Tint2, most of XFCE4 removed, CrunchBang scripts)

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Orbmiser » 02 May 2014 19:53

MoldMe wrote:Once installed (standalone), all you have to do to update Firefox is:

v28 and below -- access Help-About Firefox and click the Check for Updates button/link
v29 -- access Help-About Firefox
Yes but that is the manual method from mozilla and hasn't been checked against specific distro's.
As there may or may not be issues as seen some serious issues bypassing repo version.
That's why I like to wait for the official repo version.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

User avatar
twa
Posts: 24
Joined: 22 Jul 2013 20:10
Location: flown west

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby twa » 02 May 2014 20:03

cory,
affirmative, done by myself not through UM.
here is the link:http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/
so far so good.

User avatar
arizon
Posts: 25
Joined: 05 Dec 2013 21:05
Location: Serbia

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby arizon » 02 May 2014 20:43

When can we expect in Solyd repo's?
Image

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Orbmiser » 02 May 2014 20:50

NOW! Just updated 29 updates - 74mb.

Firefox 29 & Flash.
Bunch of Mesa graphics stuff.
New Updater
Etc...

The Best About:Config Tweaks That Make Firefox Better
http://lifehacker.com/the-best-about-co ... 1442137111
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

dave hartley
Posts: 28
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 21:16

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby dave hartley » 03 May 2014 13:19

Firefox 29 makes some significant changes to the GUI.

If you prefer aspects of the way it used to look there is an add-on which makes it
a lot easier to do the customizing you want

Classic Theme Restorer
https://addons.mozilla.org/EN/firefox/a ... erestorer/

Most of it is self-explanatory - to restore the old style of titlebar, with the menu bar
underneath, uncheck the item 'Tabs in titlebar'.

One thing to be aware of, if you have set up custom menu bars or put controls
into the Add-on bar, is that Firefox 29 does away with them (as standard the Add-on bar no longer
exists in vanilla Firefox). The version of Firefox 29 I updated to on a Windows box stuck all
the controls from the abolished menus into the navigation and bookmark menus and
rendered FF temporarily unusable.

Classic Theme Restorer contains an Add-on bar option but the current version
on the Mozilla site doesn't automatically pick up any controls you had put into your
Add-on bar.

There is another add-on

The Addon Bar (restored)
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... addon-bar/

which does pick up the way you had the Add-On bar. If you use it as well as
Classic Theme Restorer you will need to turn off the Add-on bar in the latter.

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Orbmiser » 04 May 2014 19:09

The Mozilla team is working on a number of performance tweaks for upcoming versions of Firefox, one of which is the use of a new HTTP cache that should fix some UI hang issues. It isn't enabled by default yet, but will be soon—and you can enable it right now with an about:config tweak. To do so:

Enter about:config into Firefox's address bar and press Enter.
Search for the browser.cache.use_new_backend and double-click on it.
Change its value from 0 to 1 to enable the new cache. (You can flip it back at any time by changing it back to 0).
Close about:config and continue browsing—no need to restart or anything.

I enabled it and while it hasn't been a silver bullet, it seems to have helped decrease the number of times the browser screeches to a halt.
Haven't tested it myself yet so don't know how viable as a solution yet.

Update: Started to use and saw my free space going down from 5.2gb on /home to 2.0gb today. Thinking it was enabling the new cache. Found a Cache2 folder in my .cache/mozilla/firefox/ default user folder that was 3.2gb in size so deleted it. And then went back and disabled it. To see if it starts to climb again. As can't afford to give up the little space I have free on /home.
.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

User avatar
MoldMe
Posts: 58
Joined: 01 May 2014 09:37

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby MoldMe » 04 May 2014 20:54

Orbmiser wrote:Yes but that is the manual method from mozilla and hasn't been checked against specific distro's.
As there may or may not be issues as seen some serious issues bypassing repo version.
That's why I like to wait for the official repo version.
.
It's stand alone...it shouldn't matter. The download from Mozilla is gzipped, so once you extract it, a Firefox folder is created. On two other distros that I use, I moved the folder under /home/<user>/bin.

CrunchBang -- Siduction -- SolydBang (Openbox, Tint2, most of XFCE4 removed, CrunchBang scripts)

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby Orbmiser » 04 May 2014 21:49

It's stand alone...it shouldn't matter.
Maybe not sure myself to the whole process. But believe their have been issues dealing with local languages and other issues. As seen it mentioned that they compile Thunderbird & Firefox against solydXK for compatibility? As think they wouldn't need to do that if it didn't matter.

Like I said don't know enough details of the process to really say one way or the other. And as a result stick with the official repo release myself. As not going to miss out on anything and gives more time for critical bugs to be patched and fixed before I get it.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

balloon
Posts: 164
Joined: 03 Apr 2014 03:53

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby balloon » 11 May 2014 01:55

In the first place I noticed that an appropriate answer was not considered to be it in a contribution of twa.
The person that this uses a language except English is a special problem.
That is possible in this procedure by a method to let you display Firefox by a language except English.

Please install the language package "firefox-l10n-it",
(it = italian, Other languages change "it" to the applicable country cord)
You can install this in apt-get and package manager. For example, from terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install firefox-l10n-it
and install Locale Switcher and change a language.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en/firefox/a ... -switcher/
Alternatively, You can change a direct language from "about:config".

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1487
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Firefox 29.0

Postby MAYBL8 » 11 May 2014 12:43

I am having an issue with this site:
http://betaplayer.radio.com/listen/station/93xrt
Station won't play.
It does play in Google Chrome.



Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests