How can I customise Back-Forward-Reload button on firefox29?

Questions about software.
wayne
Posts: 178
Joined: 25 Feb 2013 14:58

How can I customise Back-Forward-Reload button on firefox29?

Postby wayne » 15 May 2014 09:55

I am used to having this method, which is default on chrome/chromium..

go-back, go-forward, Reload page...

Old firefox versions, I can easily customise it to the same as chrome's default.

This is the image I capture to show what I meant.

top portion is chrome
bottom portion is firefox 29.0.1

Image


http://i60.tinypic.com/353pt.png

Now, on firefox 29...I have not found a way to customise this..
can anyone help please?

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby fleabus » 15 May 2014 10:27

Bummer! :evil:
Looks like they locked the reload icon in place, even in customize mode.... I'd hate to have to load an add-on to get the customizations back. And ESR only buys a little time. Next ESR is in June I believe, v31.... v24 is supported thru October... Maybe there's something in about:config. More research for me..... :)

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Enterprise/Fir ... l#Proposal

<Sigh...> It appears that I'm more of an old stick-in-the-mud than I thought. Even though I have not experienced any usability problems with Australis, and v29 works just fine, Should I choose to be picky, I do actually prefer that older interface... :mrgreen:
So for now, back to ESR...

User avatar
Night Wing
Posts: 445
Joined: 26 Dec 2013 02:46
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby Night Wing » 15 May 2014 13:20

Well, if you're not married to the linux Firefox browser, you can try the linux Pale Moon browser and I think you can have what you want. Below is my screenshot of linux Pale Moon running in SolydX and the screenshot is of the Pale Moon forums site. You'll have to click on the attachment to get a larger and clearer picture.

On a side note, since Firefox and Pale Moon do not share the same profile, you can run both side by side at the same time without any problems for comparison purposes. The version of linux Pale Moon I'm running is the newest 24.5.0. and what you're seeing is my customization of Pale Moon. BTW, the only extension I use in Pale Moon is NoSquint (set at 120%) which you can see in the bottom far right of the Add-on Bar.
Attachments
PML1366.jpg

wayne
Posts: 178
Joined: 25 Feb 2013 14:58

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby wayne » 15 May 2014 13:44

Dave..

Haha,, I tried so many time, on Windows version and Linux version..
Just could not move that reload icon..
hence my post :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

May be ff29 onward they just lock that icon :twisted:
If there is a addon for that I will definitely try :mrgreen:

I d-u my sid yesterday and ...iceweasel 29.0.1 invaded...


NightWing,
I am well aware of Palemoon 24 as I am using it on some partitions...
and all kinds of FF/iceweasel, version 3, 17, 19...and for partitions that have Wheezy it is still 24. I have no trouble customising all of them upto version 28..

User avatar
Night Wing
Posts: 445
Joined: 26 Dec 2013 02:46
Location: Texas, USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby Night Wing » 15 May 2014 14:04

@wayne

I'm not sure if this is what you want, but have you tried the NoUn Buttons add-on for Firefox 29?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... n-Buttons/

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby fleabus » 15 May 2014 14:22

wayne wrote:Haha,, I tried so many time ..... Just could not move that reload icon..
hence my post :mrgreen: May be ff29 onward they just lock that icon :twisted:
Yeahhh.... Hence my decision to back off to ESR with production and home editions...
wayne wrote: If there is a addon for that I will definitely try :mrgreen:
I d-u my sid yesterday and ...iceweasel 29.0.1 invaded... :D
yuck I forgot about Sid. guess I gotta really start looking for that add on, or get it to accept a ESR for the time being.... Yukk... :-)

wayne
Posts: 178
Joined: 25 Feb 2013 14:58

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby wayne » 15 May 2014 14:42

Thanks NightWing for the addon..

read a lots of users complaining about the reload button!! in mozilla forum and many recommends the wellknown addons
CTR, classic theme restorer

Now.. I am happier :)

iceweasel 29 with addons
Image




iceweasel 29 with additional addons for vertical space,,, Hide caption title plus

Image



palemoon24. no addons
Image

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby fleabus » 15 May 2014 14:56

:D Yay! Good info, thanks Night Wing, and wayne....

[rant]
What irked me specifically is the three little lines on the right which when clicked, bring up a not so useful menu of randomly selected stuff moved into here from the old menus. Then we go and purposely implement Defective by Design customization. Jeez, Does Everyone Have To Go ChroMobile??? :roll:
[/rant]

Ahem. Sorry... :oops: Ahem. No, really, it's fine....

:mrgreen: :twisted: :lol:

kurotsugi
Posts: 2267
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby kurotsugi » 16 May 2014 15:37

the forward button will automatically appear once back button got pressed. as for the reload button using F5 on my experience is faster and easier. as far as I remember the reload button have been removed quite long time ago.

User avatar
vtpoet
Posts: 250
Joined: 26 Nov 2013 14:32

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby vtpoet » 16 May 2014 17:18

fleabus wrote:Bummer! [snip] Should I choose to be picky, I do actually prefer that older interface... :mrgreen:
So for now, back to ESR...
Me too, actually. I also much prefer the older interface, and mainly because (despite their smiley, happy-face claims) the new interface isn't nearly as customizable. I much preferred having my address bar at the bottom and in the status bar.
Linux Reap what you tweak.

User avatar
sobe
Posts: 90
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 21:34
Location: SW Florida
Contact:

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby sobe » 16 May 2014 18:52

You can also just hit ctrl+r on your keyboard to refresh the page. As for the forward button it only appears if there is a forward to go to in the new firefox. Also just in case you didn't know (I didn't) pressing "alt" will show the old style menus at the top in case you need them.
Distros currently and regularly on my machines...
Semplice, Linux Mint Xfce, SolydX,

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby Zill » 16 May 2014 19:03

sobe wrote:...Also just in case you didn't know (I didn't) pressing "alt" will show the old style menus at the top in case you need them.
Now that really is a top-tip for those of us who hadn't discovered all the secrets! :-)

User avatar
sobe
Posts: 90
Joined: 09 Mar 2013 21:34
Location: SW Florida
Contact:

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby sobe » 16 May 2014 19:10

I stumbled on to that one by mistake zill lol. I actually am fine with the new Firefox interface since I have used it for a while in the nightly builds and got use to it. The only thing I wish fox had that Chrome does is a keyboard short cut to show/hide the bookmarks bar. You can easily access the setting by right clicking on an empty area to the right of the tabs and just uncheck it, but a keyboard short cut would be better. I think in Chrome it's something like ctrl+alt+b to quickly show/hide the bookmarks bar.
Distros currently and regularly on my machines...
Semplice, Linux Mint Xfce, SolydX,

wayne
Posts: 178
Joined: 25 Feb 2013 14:58

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby wayne » 16 May 2014 22:47

thanks kurotsugi and sobe..

now I know alt, ctrl+r, F5..etc. very useful

User avatar
fleabus
Posts: 1227
Joined: 16 Sep 2013 04:24
Location: Winchester, VA USA

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby fleabus » 16 May 2014 23:51

wayne wrote:thanks kurotsugi and sobe..

now I know alt, ctrl+r, F5..etc. very useful
I knew nothing of this either. Thanks from here too, very good info!

kurotsugi
Posts: 2267
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby kurotsugi » 17 May 2014 02:15

F3 is find text - F5 refresh - F6 directly goes to address bar - F7 caret browsing - F10 same function with Alt-F (show file menu) - F11 full screen mode - F12 developer mode - Alt + left button : back - Alt + right button : forward
firefox actually have quite a lot combo button. there's a lot more there. you can press Alt+H -- keyboard shortcut or visit this site to get the full list. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ke ... =inproduct

wayne
Posts: 178
Joined: 25 Feb 2013 14:58

Re: How can I customise this on firefox29?

Postby wayne » 17 May 2014 09:03

thanks kurotsugi for more tips..

made a little progress each day :)

thanks also to gingerbread man... :mrgreen:

i got back the old method that i am used-to... :lol:

Image


The how-to from gingerbread man is in the linked image :)

Image


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests