Videocard Blender

Questions about software.
badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 08 Jul 2014 20:31

Hi, I can chose my Nvidia 780 ti in Bender as Compute Device. I could when I was using Manjaro. Do I have to install something when running SolydX?
Thanx

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby Orbmiser » 08 Jul 2014 20:33

Did you run the DDM (Device Driver Manager) is where to select proprietary drivers to install.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 08 Jul 2014 20:41

Yes

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 08 Jul 2014 21:03

It might be that I had Blender 2.71 on Manjaro. But in SolydX Sofware Manger I only find 2.69. Why?

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby Orbmiser » 08 Jul 2014 21:13

badkar81 wrote:It might be that I had Blender 2.71 on Manjaro. But in SolydX Sofware Manger I only find 2.69. Why?
Manjaro is based on Arch which is more bleading edge.
SolydXK is based on Debian Testing with update packs only coming out every 3 months.
So apps will be more bleeding edge in Manjaro. But also more prone to breakage and stability issues with apps and such being bleeding edge.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 08 Jul 2014 21:35

Yes, I have noticed. Thats why I moved to Solyd X.
I downloaded the 2.71 from there homepage. But that did not solve the problem...
I have the same problem with Corel Aftershot Pro 2 to. So it is System wide, except Steam, dont Steam use OpenGL

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby zerozero » 08 Jul 2014 22:07

please post the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Gxx
bliss of ignorance

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 08 Jul 2014 22:08

Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GK110B [GeForce GTX 780 Ti] bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:100a
X.Org: 1.15.0 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1200@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 780 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 GLX Version: 4.4.0 NVIDIA 331.67 Direct Rendering: Yes

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby zerozero » 09 Jul 2014 01:25

i thought that there could be some issue with the drivers but no, they are properly installed.
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
smackthepony
Posts: 147
Joined: 28 Oct 2013 13:49
Location: the low countries

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby smackthepony » 09 Jul 2014 12:10

AFAIK you need cuda nvidia to be able to use GPU computing in Blender.
I suggest you do some reading on this subject as it could lead to issues.
If you use search in synaptic for cuda you will find version 5.5. Installing nvidia-cuda-toolkit should be sufficient.
Image

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 09 Jul 2014 14:21

I am stuck on this line:

Code: Select all

 ./cuda_6.0.37_linux_64.run

User avatar
smackthepony
Posts: 147
Joined: 28 Oct 2013 13:49
Location: the low countries

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby smackthepony » 09 Jul 2014 14:57

Have you tried?

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install nvidia-cuda-toolkit
installs version 5.5 from the repos
Image

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 10 Jul 2014 07:58

Well I tried a lot of different ways but cant get it to work. Does SolydX support Cuda? I have been following this guide (http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-gettin ... on-actions) to but cant find out the info I need for this line:

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg -i cuda-repo-<distro>_<version>_<architecture>.deb

badkar81
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Jul 2014 07:56

Re: Videocard Blender

Postby badkar81 » 10 Jul 2014 15:50

Should Cuda work "out of the box", or does everybody have to install the toolkit and everything? Do I need to do anything more then just install the toolkit?


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests