Anyone using wine for anything

Questions about software.
User avatar
lizbeth
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 11:48
Location: Washington, DC, USA

Anyone using wine for anything

Postby lizbeth » 18 Nov 2014 22:51

Is it better to run a 32 bit distro with 32 bit wine or is it better if you have a 64 bit processor to run the 32 bit wine?

Just looking for anyone's experience with this.
Rebellion Against Tyranny is Obedience To GOD!




Image

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1487
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby MAYBL8 » 19 Nov 2014 01:13

The only thing I can tell you is I run SolydK64.
I use 2 programs that use wine. 1 is Teamviewer and the other is Evernote.
They both work fine but I am not sure if it is wine 32 or 64. It is whatever was installed with my SolydK64.


kurotsugi
Posts: 2234
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby kurotsugi » 19 Nov 2014 03:38

linux 64 bit have better support in debian so and wine32 works just fine in linux 64 bit environtment. I'll choose the 2nd scenario to get the best.

User avatar
Orbmiser
Posts: 829
Joined: 24 Aug 2013 22:58
Location: Portland,Oregon

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby Orbmiser » 19 Nov 2014 06:23

Yep use DVDshrink & Evernote in wine without issue. Tho manually have to mount dvd first in Dolphin before DvdShrink will see it. If I had quad-core and at least 6gb of ram would probably go the VB route. Which did work on my older dual-core and 4gb of ram. But was a little bit slow with those specs for running things like Lightroom with only 1 dedicated core and 2gb of ram assigned to the VM.
.
Portfolio
http://500px.com/Orbmiser
Flickr
http://www.flickr.com/photos/orb9220/

SolydK - Kernel 3.16-2-amd64 - KDE 4.14.1 Update Pack: 2014.10.15

User avatar
lizbeth
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 11:48
Location: Washington, DC, USA

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby lizbeth » 19 Nov 2014 12:19

i wish there was a virtualbox os that booted my computer and only offered the virtualbox interface after detecting all my hardware and used a low memory footprint and then allowed all the system resources available for the virtual machine to use completely and then i could start linux or windows or whatever i wanted from that virtual os.
Rebellion Against Tyranny is Obedience To GOD!




Image

User avatar
MAYBL8
Posts: 1487
Joined: 10 Mar 2013 18:41
Location: Maryland Heights, MO USA
Contact:

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby MAYBL8 » 19 Nov 2014 12:31

The only thing I can think of for you might be to dual boot.
Install Windows and Linux and boot to Windows when you need it and boot to Linux by default.
I have a dual boot setup. You also could try Virtual box out of a Windows install and see how that works for running Linux.
Not much help I know but I thought I would throw it out there.


User avatar
lizbeth
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 11:48
Location: Washington, DC, USA

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby lizbeth » 19 Nov 2014 12:48

Thanks everyone for the ideas. I think i'll run the 64 bit solydx and wine 32.

:)
Rebellion Against Tyranny is Obedience To GOD!




Image

kurotsugi
Posts: 2234
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby kurotsugi » 19 Nov 2014 13:19

i wish there was a virtualbox os that booted my computer and only offered the virtualbox interface after detecting all my hardware and used a low memory footprint and then allowed all the system resources available for the virtual machine to use completely and then i could start linux or windows or whatever i wanted from that virtual os.
I think I got an idea to implement it.
1. install a debian with net installer without X.
2. install virtualbox
3. create and install the guest OS
4. launch the guest OS from terminal.

User avatar
Snap
Posts: 1244
Joined: 25 Aug 2013 20:01
Location: Spain

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby Snap » 19 Nov 2014 19:52

I only use wine for audio stuff, Reaper and VST plugins. It's an acceptable solution, obviously not specially good and not the best to run Win stuff, but uses to work and got the job done.

My last attempt (just yesterday) of a win install made me fully deleting the virtual machine after spending less than an hour on it. What an annoying OS! I prefer to use wine if possible and avoid the real thing any time. But I always keep an eye peeled on ReactOS. I have big expectations on it. I keep dreaming on dedicated audio OS only running Reaper and a few plugins on it. :mrgreen:
This likely means that your installation is broken. -Mr Pixbuf.

Image

User avatar
lizbeth
Posts: 278
Joined: 08 Jun 2013 11:48
Location: Washington, DC, USA

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby lizbeth » 19 Nov 2014 21:23

I think I got an idea to implement it.
1. install a debian with net installer without X.
2. install virtualbox
3. create and install the guest OS
4. launch the guest OS from terminal.


I wonder how i'd get a display or proprietary graphics working like that
Rebellion Against Tyranny is Obedience To GOD!




Image

kurotsugi
Posts: 2234
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby kurotsugi » 20 Nov 2014 08:12

the net installer doesn't give an option to install X without get bloated with desktop component. if you really need them you can install them when you install virtualbox.

Herb
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Dec 2014 16:53

Re: Anyone using wine for anything

Postby Herb » 02 Dec 2014 17:18

I'm not clear whether I'm using Wine or not! I've used Wine successfully on other Linux versions in order to use Photoshop, but no matter what I did and how many versions of Linux I tried, I found that I couldn't install Photomatix. (I've just become interested in HDR & Photomatix is a very effective program for creating High Dynamic Range pictures).

That was the situation - until yesterday, when I installed SolydX. I'm still not clear exactly exactly what the steps were, but I think they included using Play on Linux as well as some Wine-related software. SolydX set up some sort of virtual drive and now I can use both Photomatix and Photoshop Elements 2.

My computer is a Lenovo Tower Think Centre and has an SSD drive.


Return to “Software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests