Default boot splash

Here is the place were the team and the community projects meet together. Help us to develop SolydXK projects or contribute your ideas for future releases.
woodsman

Default boot splash

Postby woodsman » 08 Jun 2014 20:40

Using SolydX and I am new to SolydX.

By chance, could the default boot splash be changed in the next UP to a more proactive splash? A spinner, throbber, or thermometer progress bar?

The current default splash is very clean and has a fade-in/fade-out effect but to my eyes is not as noticeable as other methods. I did not notice the fade effect until several reboots later.

Just curious.

Yes, I am aware there are other splash options in the default installation as well as additional Plymouth theme packages.

Zill

Re: Default boot splash

Postby Zill » 08 Jun 2014 22:49

woodsman wrote:...could the default boot splash be changed in the next UP to a more proactive splash?...
There is an option to disable Plymouth during installation and this provides the most "proactive splash" with terminal output explaining exactly what is happening. As Plymouth is also rather flaky, many of us prefer to use a "no plymouth" boot by default.

woodsman

Postby woodsman » 09 Jun 2014 02:25

Yes, I too prefer no boot splash at all. But I am old school, somebody who started with computers before GUIs became popular.

I find that boot splashes tend to calm those, um, Windows users who migrate to Linux. Explaining to them that "this is how real computers work" doesn't seem to help. :D

Yes, Plymouth is flaky. I notice in LMDE but not SolydX that using the boot splash causes havoc with the keyboard shortcuts to toggle to other consoles (Ctrl+Alt+Fx). I also notice that usually at least twice during the splash presentation, the splash coughs back to stdout. Not to forget that moment between grub and splash is, well, amatuerish looking.