Hello fellow Linux users!

New to SolydXK? This is the place to say "Hello"
ninjawarrior

Hello fellow Linux users!

Postby ninjawarrior » 20 Oct 2014 04:56

I have been using several different flavors of linux for over five years now. I can say the first few desktop environments I installed I wasn`t to impressed with. Gnome and Mate, mainly I first started out with. If anything, at that time I was amazed at the customability of the desktop, as compared to Windows. And it was Free!! I now have a "test bed" PC I use to install and test the functionallity and customability of linux OS`s. This might sound strange, but I love KDE! With it I have experimented on serveral linux OS`s. In the past two years, starting with Kubuntu, I have made and saved several sucessful builds. I am not a professional programmer, but I do assemble OS`s (desktop enviornments) for people (former and soon to be former windows users). Most folks don`t want to or can`t put the time into setting up an linux OS. So helping folks out in this way, gives them a chance to learn something different. Not to mention you don`t have to pay for linux! You can`t say that about windows.
Solydxk is my first attempt at debian enviornment. I must say it is a rather touchy system when it comes to permissions. Having to type in your password for root acesses all the time is a little anoying, but changing permisssions isn`t to complicated. On other systems getting root acess can be even trickier. I`ve also found that it is probably a better idea to install software from the command line. Any ways I installed Solydk 64 bit and it is looking pretty good! Now I`ll start doing the easy stuff, like installing software, customizing media and networking, and backing it all up!