Intro & first impressions of SolydK

New to SolydXK? This is the place to say "Hello"
Praxis

Intro & first impressions of SolydK

Postby Praxis » 03 Feb 2015 21:14

Hey folks, I've been using Linux as my daily operating system for about 10 years now, and after experimenting around with a variety of versions, gravitated towards Debian, particularly a sid version known as sidux which made installing codecs & extra packages easy via a script called smxi. But the frequent package churn and breakage didn't thrill me, so I gradually migrated towards a mix of stable and testing, especially after the sidux community self-destructed. I like the notion of a rolling release but don't see the need to get every little package upgrade (it might annoy me less if Debian had some sort of delta upgrade that would just update the changes to packages rather than the whole thing, but I don't see how that would be done). I tried Ubuntu when it first came out (4.10), but hated it. Too brown, sudo was unfamiliar, and Gnome 2 seemed pretty brain-dead (though I subsequently learned that the defaults were mostly to blame, like the infamous nautilus spatial mode). But then I discovered Kubuntu and found that the 'buntus were a little easier to install. I batted back and forth between Ubuntu and Debian installs until Ubuntu moved to 5 year LTS support in 12.04, and then stopped installing Debian on machines except ones where I couldn't get Ubuntu to install for some reason. My last Debian installs were the first couple of versions of LMDE, as I recall.