Greetings from Vienna

New to SolydXK? This is the place to say "Hello"
The_Fritz

Greetings from Vienna

Postby The_Fritz » 06 Jun 2016 13:37

Hello everybody!

I am just about to burn SolydX on a DVD for installation on a five year old desktop with 4 GB RAM and a Harddisk of 500 GB. When I did some research on a Debian based OS that supports xfce well, I found SolydX and this forum. I have been using Ubuntu and Mint for ten years now, because I want an OS that gets out of my way and just works. Since my old version of Fireworks runs well in wine and I can play civ 4 in steam, I don't really need windows any more. I also love the possibilities to change the desktop's appearance until I find it cozy and usable. Here is a screenshot from my other PC with Xubuntu: https://scontent-frt3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/t3 ... 7220_o.jpg

Though I do some programming (mostly Web-stuff with JavaScript and some Python) I don't want to know in all detail, what is going on under the hood of my OS. I considered trying Debian Jessie, but I was put off by the design of their website. Also, I have been wondering, if there is something more lightweight than Xubuntu.

And I like the enthusiasm in this forum. ;-)

Except playing around with computers, I am into writing (which is my profession), drawing and hiking.

Kind regards,
The_Fritz, 42, Vienna

Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin

Re: Greetings from Vienna

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 06 Jun 2016 15:01

Hi The_Fritz, and welcome to our forum!

I hope the installation went smoothly. Let us know how it went.

If you ever find that our SolydXK application could use some improvement, here's the source at GitHub: https://github.com/SolydXK

Enjoy your stay and if you encounter any problems do not hesitate to post them here :)

SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

Zill

Postby Zill » 06 Jun 2016 19:35

The_Fritz: Thank you for introducing yourself and please let me add my welcome.