New... sorta

New to SolydXK? This is the place to say "Hello"
mattymanx

New... sorta

Postby mattymanx » 08 Mar 2017 18:39

Hey,

Could have sworn I had an account here already. Anyways, new here as i dont come here for anything.

I'm a long time Xubuntu user who switched over to SolydX after getting tired of the changes in Xubuntu. I am loving the rolling updates and how SolydX is kept light weight. My linux box is not my primary system but I use it for all things internet related. My Windows 10 Pro box does all the real work (as I work from home) but stays off the net a lot. I am an artist and not a programmer and have come to really appreciate the debian family and XFCE based distros.

Anyways, feel free to check out my DeviantART gallery - http://mattymanx.deviantart.com/ - and my Daz3D store - http://www.daz3d.com/mattymanx

Zill

Re: New... sorta

Postby Zill » 08 Mar 2017 19:17

mattymanx: Welcome to SolydXK forums and I trust you will enjoy using this great distro!

It is not clear which edition of SolydX you have installed as there are distinct differences. The "main" edition is based on Debian stable and so is definitely not rolling, as the functionality of this edition remains substantially constant for the life of the Debian stable release (currently jessie). Only security updates and a few (high-priority) bugfixes are issued for this edition. The plus side is that this edition is highly reliable and will just run without any fuss!