Page 5 of 9

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 19:47
by Arjen Balfoort
I have the same VB version.

It would surprise me if you could install: I haven't been able to test much because of the VB issue.
However, if you would partition and format the drive(s) in VB before you start the installer, I bet you get a lot further. I theory, the live-installer would now support installing on more than one drive.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 19:57
by grizzler
zerozero wrote:which VB version you are using?
Same one here as well. And it definitely doesn't like any of the SolydXK ISOs I have here (no, they're not corrupted in any way - I checked).

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 20:04
by zerozero
here are those VM's settings
snapshot327.png
[the same i give to all my VM's]

1. it's surprising that it works (apparently only for me) as smooth as all the other isos did before.
2. as far as i understand Schoelje has now a general regression: not even the Oct 15th isos now behave normally.
3. i saw now Frank's added notes about VB 4.3.14, considering his problems with it as well i think i'm the odd one out :mrgreen:

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 20:14
by Arjen Balfoort
The Sid version doesn't change a thing either.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 20:23
by zerozero
what specs are you giving to the VM's?
they are behaving almost identically here (latest 2014.10 Oct, 15th iso and the alpha iso)
snapshot328.png

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 20:45
by Arjen Balfoort
The same as you, except that I have half the memory, and video memory (which is half of what I have).

This is just a stab in the dark, but could this happen because I have an Nvidia card and using the proprietary drivers?

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 20:57
by grizzler
Weird. I cleaned out the VMs that didn't work and created two new ones with twice as much memory as before (2048MB instead of my usual 1024). Both the 2014-07 and the 2014-10-alpha ISO ran fine... :? :shock:

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:00
by MAYBL8
Hanging in my virtualbox also:
alpha.png

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:01
by Arjen Balfoort
Nice, but unfortunately, I haven't got those specs to spare...

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:04
by MAYBL8
Weird. I cleaned out the VMs that didn't work and created two new ones with twice as much memory as before (2048MB instead of my usual 1024). Both the 2014-07 and the 2014-10-alpha ISO ran fine... :? :shock:
2048 did the trick for me.
Installer ran

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:05
by Snap
I have a VM with the 201410 iso (cannot remember the day) But I always run my VMs with 4GB of RAM and 2 CPU cores. Currently VBox 4.3.18 (you cannot tell a difference in performance compared with metal installs). Perhaps this is the reason why mine doesn't misbehave. :roll:

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:08
by MAYBL8
It asks this question but it doesn't do anything after I click yes the box just goes away:
alpha1a.png
alpha1a.png (28.22 KiB) Viewed 3329 times

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 21:10
by Arjen Balfoort
MAYBL8 wrote:It asks this question but it doesn't do anything after I click yes the box just goes away:
alpha1a.png
I know, but that is not my issue: if I want to debug the installer, I need a working VM and that's exactly what I don't have.

I did buy a new machine today, but I don't know when I'll have it and when it's ready for development.
I'm going to see if I can find some old memory for this machine.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 27 Oct 2014 23:32
by zerozero
Schoelje wrote:Nice, but unfortunately, I haven't got those specs to spare...
with 1500MB it runs absolutely fine, without any performance hit.

EDIT: actually it also runs well(1) with 1250MB (2 cores)
snapshot329.png
(1) cpu usage goes over-the-roof with FF (somewhat expected) but otherwise pretty OK.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 28 Oct 2014 00:49
by zerozero
looking closer at this iso (and also the 2014.10 Oct 15th) i noticed that file indexing (baloo) is active (1) and that is a) a change from the previous isos and b) probably not a very good default knowing that search&indexing can be very cpu-intensive.
- would it be possible (while you wait for the new hardware) to respin this iso without file indexing active?

(1) is active but the kcm module that allows to easily enable/disable it, is missing

Code: Select all

zerozero@home ~ $ dpkg -S baloo | grep kcm
kde-l10n-engb: /usr/share/locale/en_GB/LC_MESSAGES/kcm_baloofile.mo
baloo-utils: /usr/share/kde4/services/kcm_baloofile.desktop
baloo-utils: /usr/lib/kde4/kcm_baloofile.so
zerozero@home ~ $ 

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 28 Oct 2014 05:55
by Snap
Yep, I noticed baloo is on and really intensive and annoying in the new isos I installed until the first full indexing is completed (or until you disable the server). I let it go in a VM just to check it. It takes a veeery long while. And yes, the module has gone from system settings. Well, nepomuk behaved the same but had a kcm module and in many distros it was disabled as default.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 29 Oct 2014 03:00
by wildman
I installed the alpha iso into virtualbox using the same settings that ZZ posted. The install went smooth except for one thing. I got the same message that MAYBL8 received. So I clicked Edit Partitions and Gparted ran. Installed the MBR and partitioned the drive (20gig) as 18gig EXT4 and 2gig swap. The rest of the install continued without any problems.

After reboot, I ran a few programs like VLC, Firefox and LO. No problems. I ran Synaptic and got an error saying there was a problem with dpkg and said to run this command to fix the problem.

Code: Select all

dpkg --configure -a
I tried to run the command using sudo but my password was rejected. It never would take it. So I ran the command with gksu and it executed. here are the results. Synaptic ran fine afterwards.
gksu.png
gksu.png (21.42 KiB) Viewed 3223 times
Is there is anything in particular I should test or check?

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 30 Oct 2014 16:09
by Arjen Balfoort
The first beta version of SolydK64 is ready for testing.

For this Live Installer I used the very experimental code of the Live Installer's main contributor, kernc.
You can find his source here: https://github.com/kernc/live-installer

Most changes were made "under the hood", like using rsync to copy instead of cp, or using a better method to decide where the user currently is and many, many more.

Here are some of the new features that are more visible:
  • Support for multiple drives.
    You can now have your /home on a different drive.
  • Any first drive without a partition table and larger than 61G will get a separate /home partition.
  • The slide show is now translatable.
    I'll upload it to Github as soon as the ISOs are done and in production.
  • You can set auto-login for the user in the user info section.
  • Advanced settings is back in the partitioning section.
    I haven't tested it, though.
  • Installing libdvdcss has been de-selected by default.
    The user must actively select to install those packages.
  • Improved UI.
In the future I'd like to include an HTML help page on how to partition with gparted. So, if somebody would like to help with that (lot's of images), I'd really appreciate it.

Note that selecting a drive to mount as root or home must again be done with a right-click. I had to revert to keep the installer as close to the original as possible.

Translations are incomplete. Only Dutch is complete for testing purposes.

Download/md5sum here: http://downloads.solydxk.nl/dev/testing/

Screenshot:
live-installer-partitioning.png

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 30 Oct 2014 16:27
by odo5435
This is great news indeed!
Schoelje wrote:Support for multiple drives.You can now have your /home on a different drive.
Outstanding!
Any first drive without a partition table and larger than 61G will get a separate /home partition.
Should make life easier for the uninitiated.
The slide show is now translatable.
Great move. How many potential users of how many distros are put off by lack of English skills?
You can set auto-login for the user in the user info section.
A long awaited improvement.

If I thought I could help with testing I'd have already downloaded this. As it is, I'll be awaiting the finished product with bated breath so that I can finally install Solyd on my desktop without the worry of borking a transfer of my /home partition.

Re: ISO testing 201410

Posted: 30 Oct 2014 19:15
by grizzler
Did a quick test in a VM (no time for a thorough one right now, unfortunately...). Looks good.