Reporting some issues with the EE version

SolydXK is too quiet for you? SolydXK Enthusiast Editions, based on Debian Testing is for you! Here you can find news about Debian Testing and Unstable too, and also tests on SolydXK programs.
The support for SolydXK EE is provided by the community.
User avatar
grizzler
Posts: 2197
Joined: 04 Mar 2013 15:45
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby grizzler » 11 Nov 2016 20:29

Yes, updating/upgrading should be enough most of the time. However, sometimes configuration files make a difference and these aren't always replaced when you upgrade. That's why tests with new ISOs are preferable. They can produce different results.
Frank

SolydX EE 64 - tracking Debian Testing

SolydForEver
Posts: 350
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby SolydForEver » 11 Nov 2016 20:35

grizzler wrote:Yes, updating/upgrading should be enough most of the time. However, sometimes configuration files make a difference and these aren't always replaced when you upgrade. That's why tests with new ISOs are preferable. They can produce different results.
Okay, thank you for this explanation.

SolydForEver
Posts: 350
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby SolydForEver » 21 Nov 2016 05:28

Just noticed that both Plasmashell and a small program called davmail (connector between email program and Exchange server) use a lot of memory. Much more than usual.
I have seen scores of around 500MB for the total OS, now only Plasmashell uses this much, while Davmail uses 1.2% of my 16GB..
It is written in Java and in the attached picture you can see the amount of memory it uses.
Screenshot_20161121_062703.png
What can I do about this, or which info do you need more to be able to help me?

SolydForEver
Posts: 350
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby SolydForEver » 22 Nov 2016 19:13

Anyone an idea why I am using more than 3GB of memory at the moment while using:
Google-Chrome, Davmail, Kontact and Spotify?
It's way too much, right?

kurotsugi
Posts: 2258
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby kurotsugi » 22 Nov 2016 19:49

I never use kde but based on your previous post I'd say that's normal. chrome is known as resource eater. he'll use lot of memories. I don't know about the plasmashell since I'm on the X side. you mentioned that you have 16 gb mem so IMO it's not an issue. 3/16 doesn't really means anything as long as the cpu could handle it. your picture shows that the cpu usage is normal so all is well.

SolydForEver
Posts: 350
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby SolydForEver » 22 Nov 2016 20:26

kurotsugi wrote:I never use kde but based on your previous post I'd say that's normal. chrome is known as resource eater. he'll use lot of memories. I don't know about the plasmashell since I'm on the X side. you mentioned that you have 16 gb mem so IMO it's not an issue. 3/16 doesn't really means anything as long as the cpu could handle it. your picture shows that the cpu usage is normal so all is well.
Is there anyone on the team who is using KDE? I always here I use XFCE and know nothing about KDE.
Are other users seeing the same memory use as I am or am I the only one again?
Compared this OS to my other SolydK which is SolydK 8 Jessie and this one uses 2-3 times as much memory. This is not normal, it should not do that.

User avatar
xendistar
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Jun 2014 08:17
Location: Bournemouth, UK

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby xendistar » 22 Nov 2016 21:00

I am running SolydX and would concur with Kurtsugi comment about Chrome being memory hungry. I only have 4gb of memory and had to stop using Chrome as I was running out of of memory and hitting the swap file. Using Firefox with the same amount of tabs and I am using nowhere near the same amount of memory.

SolydForEver
Posts: 350
Joined: 13 Oct 2014 05:25
Location: East part of The Netherlands

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby SolydForEver » 22 Nov 2016 21:11

It is not Chrome I am complaining about, it is KDE's programs/parts like Plasmashell, Kontact, and that java program called davmail. I know Chrome is memory-hungry as well. As soon as you open more than 1 TAB it starts. But especially Plasmashell eats as much by itself as my total SolydK8 does.
So, I would like to hear from KDE users what is the situation in their computers.

kurotsugi
Posts: 2258
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Reporting some issues with the EE version

Postby kurotsugi » 22 Nov 2016 23:11

there several enthusiast who I know using plasma but I rarely see them active in these days. nothing is reported on the breakage thread about mem usage yet. I haven't see a report on siduction too.


Return to “Testing Zone”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests