Page 1 of 1

nfs won't mount

Posted: 30 Jan 2016 16:18
by xendistar
I am setting up a new PC for my wife (using solydxee_9_32_201512.iso), on our home network I have synology nas. On my PC I mount the nas via the fstab file during bootup, here the line from my fstab (I am also running SolydX EE but 64bit version)

192.168.0.68:/volume1/Data /mnt/nfs nfs users,rw,auto 0 0

It works perfectly for me

But on the wife PC I get a mount error

karen@telstar ~ $ sudo mount -a
mount.nfs: an incorrect mount option was specified

Here is the line from her fstab

192.168.0.68:/volume1/Data /mnt/nas nfs users.rw,auto 0 3

The only difference being is the actual mount point on her PC which I called nas, I have nfs client and server installed on the wifes PC. I am using the same username and passowrd on her new PC as she use's on her old PC (which mounts the nas in exactly the same way)

Any suggestions??

Re: nfs won't mount

Posted: 30 Jan 2016 16:42
by grizzler
Don't use a 3 at the end of the fstab line? I didn't check, but I've only ever seen 0, 1 and 2 used there.

Also make sure there's a comma between users and rw.

Re: nfs won't mount

Posted: 30 Jan 2016 18:32
by xendistar
Yep you spotted it Grizzler, it was a dot rather than the required comma, I spent over and hour looking at it going over and over, "cant see the wood for the trees me" I also changed the 3 to a 2.

Just the data transfer to go now and then try and squeeze a very big box (old Dell XPS gaming PC) into a very small space under her desk :shock: