No Internet through WiFi

Questions about networking.
In the Original Post please also include the output of inxi -FNzxx
koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 15 May 2016 21:57

Hello All,

I have a WiFi connection problem - it refuses to transmit internet data.

My router is working in WiFi-WAN<->WiFi-LAN mode and it's verified this setup works on tablets and smartphones. However, in my netbook I see as it were no inet connection at all when connected through WiFi, though the connection itself is reported as OK. The router has several ether ports as well and when I cable-connect, the internet is working. The IP, mask, gate & DNS are all equal for both connections. The routing tables reported by "ip route" for both connections are same, except the reported device (eth0/wlan0). So that's my weird problem: ether connection - internet OK, WiFi connection - no internet.

AFAIK, I've all latest updates installed.

I had no such issue with LUbuntu, but I had to change distro for other reasons.

Please see 'inxi' output attached.

Thank you in advance,
koczis
Attachments
inxi.txt
inxi output
(2.35 KiB) Downloaded 60 times

User avatar
Arjen Balfoort
Site Admin
Posts: 8807
Joined: 26 Jan 2013 19:36
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Arjen Balfoort » 16 May 2016 08:23

Hi koczis, and welcome to our forum!

I've searched the net for your network card and I found a lot of people with problems.
I also checked which driver version is available and found a newer version in the backports repository:

Code: Select all

$ apt policy firmware-realtek                                                                                                                                       
firmware-realtek:                                                                                                                                                                    
  Installed: 0.43                                                                                                                                                                    
  Candidate: 0.43                                                                                                                                                                    
  Version table:                                                                                                                                                                     
     20160110-1~bpo8+1 0                                                                                                                                                             
        100 http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/ jessie-backports/non-free amd64 Packages                                                                                                
 *** 0.43 0                                                                                                                                                                          
        500 http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/ jessie/non-free amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
If you have verion 0.43 installed, you could try the backports version:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -t jessie-backports firmware-realtek
I don't have your network card nor your setup. So, I cannot really test this.

You can also check this thread from here: viewtopic.php?p=58458#p58458


SolydXK needs you!
Development | Testing | Translations

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 17 May 2016 21:33

I've updated the driver as you said, but it didn't help.
But I don't think it's a driver issue: the device is recognized and interface is available, can be operated from NetworkManager, finds available networks and connects to them. Only there's no internet.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 17 May 2016 22:13

I've also read this: https://wiki.debian.org/rtl819x
and did what's in Troubleshooting for rtl8192ce - still no progress.
The content strongly suggests the hardware is supported anyway.

Additionally: it's not only about Internet connection, I can't even access my router's page or ping it (it works over cable of course).

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 17 May 2016 22:33

Please open a terminal and post the full output of the following five commands:

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig
sudo iwconfig
sudo rfkill list
cat /etc/network/interfaces
cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
In order to make the output easily readable on the forums, please enclose each output in "code" tags. e.g.

Code: Select all

[code]my output text
[/code]Note that there is a "Code" button at the top of the forum editing window which does this automatically for any highlighted text.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 17 May 2016 22:54

Here you are.
Please note my wlan0 is disconnected.
Shall it be connected when issuing the commands?

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c8:9c:dc:9f:ca:11  
          inet addr:192.168.0.30  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::ca9c:dcff:fe9f:ca11/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:7307 errors:0 dropped:6 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7515 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:4978263 (4.7 MiB)  TX bytes:1120598 (1.0 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:21108 (20.6 KiB)  TX bytes:21108 (20.6 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr dc:85:de:a9:be:47  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:576  Metric:1
          RX packets:812 errors:0 dropped:163 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:474 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:118149 (115.3 KiB)  TX bytes:68449 (66.8 KiB)

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo iwconfig
eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
lo        no wireless extensions.

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo rfkill list
0: cmpc_rfkill: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
# Uncomment lines below if you do not want to use a network manager
#auto eth0
#allow-hotplug eth0
#iface eth0 inet dhcp

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ cat /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf
[main]
plugins=ifupdown,keyfile

[ifupdown]
managed=false

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 18 May 2016 11:07

koczis wrote:Please note my wlan0 is disconnected.
Shall it be connected when issuing the commands?
Please repeat the commands with WiFi enabled via the NetworkManager applet (ensuring ethernet is disconnected).

Then right-click on the NM applet and select "Connection Information". Take a screenshot (hit "PrtScr") and post it back here.

Confirm that the "Default Route" and "Primary DNS" shown in the screenshot are correct for your router.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 18 May 2016 20:41

Here it is.
eth0 is disconnected, wlan0 connected
192.168.0.1 is my router's IP - works with eth0 connection.

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c8:9c:dc:9f:ca:11  
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:120846 errors:0 dropped:7 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:92599 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:143801304 (137.1 MiB)  TX bytes:9070394 (8.6 MiB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:21108 (20.6 KiB)  TX bytes:21108 (20.6 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr dc:85:de:a9:be:47  
          inet addr:192.168.0.30  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:576  Metric:1
          RX packets:984 errors:0 dropped:182 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:596 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:139087 (135.8 KiB)  TX bytes:87587 (85.5 KiB)

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo iwconfig
eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"kocAP"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.452 GHz  Access Point: 30:B5:C2:2B:EF:10   
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-40 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

lo        no wireless extensions.
conn_info.png
Connection Info
conn_info.png (31.4 KiB) Viewed 3599 times

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 18 May 2016 20:44

"rfkill list" output is the same - no blocking

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 18 May 2016 22:20

koczis: Thank you for the additional information. Everything looks fine to me except the Wi-Fi speed, at 1Mb/s, seems very low. Speed does reduce with distance and so is your router near your computer or are they some distance apart (or in different rooms)?

I am also concerned that the MTU seems low, at 576, as I would have expected this to be 1500. Please right-click on the NetworkManager applet and select "Edit Connections", then select your Wi-Fi SSID (name) and hit the "Edit" button. Then go to the Wi-Fi tab and ensure that MTU is set to "Automatic" (as shown in my example below) and hit the "Save" button. Disconnect and then reconnect the Wi-Fi connection for the new MTU to take effect.
MTU.png
MTU.png (37.42 KiB) Viewed 3590 times
Then post the full output of the following command:

Code: Select all

ping -c4 192.168.0.1

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 19 May 2016 19:50

My router is 1.5m away, because my cable is only that long.
The speed is probably somehow negotiated or counted. Because there's no data transfer, the indication is fake.
MTU selection is set to automatic. Again, the indication is probably meaningless. When connected through eth0 MTU is 1500.
ping doesn't work.

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 19 May 2016 20:27

koczis wrote:

Code: Select all

koczis@kocntt ~ $ sudo ifconfig
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr dc:85:de:a9:be:47  
          inet addr:192.168.0.30  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:576  Metric:1
          RX packets:984 errors:0 dropped:182 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:596 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:139087 (135.8 KiB)  TX bytes:87587 (85.5 KiB)
As can be seen from your ifconfig output (above), some data has been getting through on wlan0 and, IMO, this does seem to indicate a driver problem.

The following command will show the current installed driver:

Code: Select all

apt policy firmware-realtek
If this shows that "20160110-1~bpo8+1" is installed then you have the latest version (from jessie backports).

The following command will show the module option for the rtl8192ce:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/modprobe.d/rtl8192ce.conf
If this file shows the line "options rtl8192ce ips=0 fwlps=0" then, following a reboot, this should disable the driver power management and optimise performance.

IMHO, this is as much as you can do with the current driver but it is possible that an improved driver may become available later.

If the Wi-Fi performance remains unacceptable then I suggest the easiest solution is to use a separate USB Wi-FI dongle.

For example, I use a "NetGear N150 Wireless USB Adapter WNA1100-100ENS" with my SolydX system and this works out-of-the-box with no configuration required. Prices seem to vary but I paid around €10 in 2013.

This adapter appears with a lsusb ID of "0846:9030" and uses AR9271 firmware in the "firmware-atheros" driver package.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 19 May 2016 21:19

Yes, I've installed this latest backport driver and also disabled power management in modprobe.
The ifconfig output indeed shows 182/984 frames dropped, but the fact is I don't experience any connection, not that it's slow.
I have ASUS micro WiFi dongle - will try.
Thanks for all your help and commitment.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 19 May 2016 22:14

OK, my WiFi dongle is exactly: Asus USB N-10 Nano and it works out of the box.
I noticed it's based on Realtek chipset as well, namely "Realtek 802.11n WLAN Adapter" and the driver is: rtl8192cu.
It suggests me, if this is a driver bug, it shall be relatively easy to fix, as the difference is in the inbound interface only: PCI vs. USB.
PCI part is obvious, Realtek 8192 part works in USB driver.
Anyone thinks it'd be feasible to file a SolydX/Debian bug somewhere?

User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 19 May 2016 22:39

koczis: I'm pleased your USB WI-Fi dongle works OK. :-)

As the problem with the RTL8192CE is not specific to SolydXK but is instead related to "upstream", I suggest a Debian bug report could be raised. However, as firmware-realtek is non-free software, Debian may, in turn, be reliant on Realtec.

https://www.debian.org/Bugs/Reporting


User avatar
Zill
Posts: 1850
Joined: 13 Aug 2013 14:28
Location: Lincolnshire, UK

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby Zill » 20 May 2016 10:17

koczis: Thank you for raising your detailed bug report. Hopefully, this will eventually benefit Debian users and, in particular, SolydXK users with the same device.

koczis
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2016 21:07

Re: No Internet through WiFi

Postby koczis » 23 May 2016 23:11

Hopefully, this will eventually benefit Debian users and, in particular, SolydXK users with the same device.
Considering current bug status and comments, hope is our only consolation. ;)


Return to “Networking”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest