Python/Glade Tutorial:Part 1 (and an introduction)

Post your tutorials and howtos here.
ScottQuier

Python/Glade Tutorial:Part 1 (and an introduction)

Postby ScottQuier » 08 May 2014 00:06

Introduction:
The very first thing I want to say is, "I'm not an expert when it comes to ANYTHING Linux. This includes Python and/or glade and/or Gtk widgets, etc. So, when you see something in this series of tutorials (Yes, I'm going to be subjecting you to a series of these things) that doesn't quite pass the "smell test", that's your signal to say something.

On the plus side, I've been a programmer of one sort or another since about 1977 (yep, I qualify for the gray-haired crowd) and I've used (and forgotten) more languages than I care to remember (hmmm forgotten .... not wanting to remember .... hmmm .... maybe I'm onto something there). :) Granted, some of these languages are not worth much and didn't get a lot of exposure.

Question: Anyone remember the "Forth" language (reference -- > https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forth_%28 ... anguage%29) Yep, I spent way too much time playing with that one.

Back on Topic: What I'm proposing to present in this series are little code snippets that demonstrate some feature or capability that I'm trying to figure out. The code being the results of "successfully" finding at least one way to get things done.

No tutorial intro would be complete without a long, long, long list of references. Sorry to disappoint. But here are some I've found useful so far: Set Up:
  • I guess the first thing that needs to be done is to make sure you have everything you're going to need. This link (http://forums.solydxk.nl/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3604) outlines what packages I first installed. Most (many?) are not going to be needed but, so far, everything I've tried has worked ... including compiling my own copy of the glade package (just for fun!).
  • In addition to that, I've also installed
Tutorial - Part 1 - This will demonstrate how to: