Using far too much ram

New to SolydXK? This is the place to start.
Please check the other subforums to see if there's a more suitable place for your question.
elwydragon
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 May 2014 23:47

Using far too much ram

Postby elwydragon » 18 May 2014 00:02

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help me. I downloaded and installed "solydx32_201405" and when booted up I opened task manager and I'm using 596 megs of ram. This is really heavy for Xfce, can anyone shine any light on this please? would be really grateful.

Also changed the repositories from the USA one to the UK one and downloaded and installed firefox but the search window in the top right hand corner is disabled! I cannot add any search engines to it. Anyone know of any fixes, would be really grateful. Thanks

User avatar
ScottQuier
Posts: 1781
Joined: 18 Jul 2013 15:55
Location: Newport News, VA

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby ScottQuier » 18 May 2014 00:19

A couple of things:
  • How did you determine you were running/using 596MB of RAM? Please reboot your computer, open a terminal window run and post back the results of

    Code: Select all

    free -h
  • From curosity, why did you download and install FF. FF 29.0.1 is in the repos and you would have received it if you had run the Update Manager or the following code in a terminal window:

    Code: Select all

    sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Scott
Quoting zerozero, "The usage of PPA's in debian-based
systems is risky at best and entails serious compatibility
problems; usually it's the best way to destroy an install"

elwydragon
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 May 2014 23:47

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby elwydragon » 18 May 2014 00:43

Hi Scot, Thanks a lot such a rapid response! I have copied and pasted as requested:

Code: Select all

mike@desktop:~$ free -h
              total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          1.7G       1.6G       141M       5.1M       120M       564M
-/+ buffers/cache:       943M       826M
Swap:         1.9G       3.8M       1.9G
I had Firefox installed of course when I installed Solydx but the perfectionist I am I uninstall it and change the repos to the UK and it is the brit version with the search bar crippled.

Thanks mate

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby zerozero » 18 May 2014 01:08

is that reading done immediately after boot and without any app running?
because it doesn't look right as-is.
i have completely different readings (vanilla SolydX-32bit)

Code: Select all

 zerozero@x32-vb:~$ free -ms10
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          2024        532       1492          2         21        361
-/+ buffers/cache:        148       1876
Swap:          507          0        507

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          2024        523       1501          2         21        362
-/+ buffers/cache:        138       1885
Swap:          507          0        507

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          2024        523       1501          2         21        362
-/+ buffers/cache:        138       1885
Swap:          507          0        507

             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          2024        523       1501          2         21        362
-/+ buffers/cache:        138       1885
Swap:          507          0        507
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
ScottQuier
Posts: 1781
Joined: 18 Jul 2013 15:55
Location: Newport News, VA

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby ScottQuier » 18 May 2014 01:19

Something's not quite right here.

A fresh reboot with SolydX 64-bit (which will required a bit more RAM than 32-bit) gives me this:

Code: Select all

free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          3.9G       618M       3.3G       2.3M        22M       361M
-/+ buffers/cache:       234M       3.6G
Swap:         2.0G         0B       2.0G
Showing some 234M used vs your huge 943M!

ETA: This is output from a 2-core, 32-bit machine, running the PAE kernel (so I can use all 4GB of the memory):

Code: Select all

$ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          4.0G       559M       3.4G       2.3M        23M       369M
-/+ buffers/cache:       165M       3.8G
Swap:         4.0G         0B       4.0G

$ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          4.0G       559M       3.4G       2.3M        23M       369M
-/+ buffers/cache:       166M       3.8G
Swap:         4.0G         0B       4.0G

$ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          4.0G       559M       3.4G       2.3M        23M       369M
-/+ buffers/cache:       165M       3.8G
Swap:         4.0G         0B       4.0G

$ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          4.0G       559M       3.4G       2.3M        23M       369M
-/+ buffers/cache:       165M       3.8G
Swap:         4.0G         0B       4.0G
Scott
Quoting zerozero, "The usage of PPA's in debian-based
systems is risky at best and entails serious compatibility
problems; usually it's the best way to destroy an install"

User avatar
PendragonUK
Posts: 41
Joined: 14 Apr 2014 17:03
Location: St.Austell, Cornwall

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby PendragonUK » 18 May 2014 11:29

<Off Topic>

I became curious about RAM usage after reading this thread.

SolydK 64bit Home. Swappyness turned way down because of SSD tweaking. Loads of physical RAM in the system (16GB).

Code: Select all

stevem@workstation ~ $ free -h
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           15G       1.3G        14G        19M        40M       592M
-/+ buffers/cache:       667M        15G
Swap:         8.1G         0B       8.1G
stevem@workstation ~ $
Image
Image

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby zerozero » 18 May 2014 11:37

Pen
i formatted the output with <code> tags to improve readability.
667M isn't much specially if you consider that you have certainly additional services starting at start-up
[dropbox for example is usually heavy on ram]
bliss of ignorance

User avatar
drc
Posts: 137
Joined: 30 Apr 2013 22:47
Location: Nebraska USA

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby drc » 18 May 2014 16:41

elwydragon wrote:...when booted up I opened task manager and I'm using 596 megs of ram. This is really heavy for Xfce.
You wouldn't happen to be using nvidia drivers, by chance?

kurotsugi
Posts: 2290
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby kurotsugi » 18 May 2014 17:42

if the ram usage is your concern then looking into 'top' command result might be a good idea to find out which processes eats your ram.

ector62
Posts: 18
Joined: 02 May 2014 22:25

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby ector62 » 18 May 2014 20:56

elwydragon wrote:Hi, I'm wondering if anyone can help me. I downloaded and installed "solydx32_201405" and when booted up I opened task manager and I'm using 596 megs of ram. This is really heavy for Xfce, can anyone shine any light on this please? would be really grateful.

Also changed the repositories from the USA one to the UK one and downloaded and installed firefox but the search window in the top right hand corner is disabled! I cannot add any search engines to it. Anyone know of any fixes, would be really grateful. Thanks
by these command:

Code: Select all

 sudo -s
get password and sending

Code: Select all

sync

Code: Select all

echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches

Code: Select all

exit
repeat
free -h
use this script, you call freemem.sh, the permissions to run as a program in a property file, to run it from the terminal by
. / freemem.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

BC=`which bc`

if [ -z $BC ]; then
    printf "\nbc not found.\n"
    exit 1
fi

fm_pre=`echo \`cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemFree | tr -s ' ' | cut -d ' ' -f2\`/1024.0 | $BC`
cm_pre=`echo \`cat /proc/meminfo | grep "^Cached" | tr -s ' ' | cut -d ' ' -f2\`/1024.0 | $BC`
m_tot=`echo \`cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal | tr -s ' ' | cut -d ' ' -f2\`/1024.0 | $BC`

printf "This script clears cached mem and free's up some ram.\n"
printf "cached memory : ${cm_pre}mb\n"
printf "free memory   : ${fm_pre}mb\n"
printf "total memory  : ${m_tot}mb\n"

sudo sh -c "sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches"

fm_post=`echo \`cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemFree | tr -s ' ' | cut -d ' ' -f2\`/1024.0 | $BC`

printf "\nmemory freed  : `echo "${fm_post} - ${fm_pre}" | $BC`mb\n"
printf "total free    : ${fm_post}mb\n"

User avatar
PendragonUK
Posts: 41
Joined: 14 Apr 2014 17:03
Location: St.Austell, Cornwall

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby PendragonUK » 18 May 2014 21:50

zerozero wrote:Pen
i formatted the output with <code> tags to improve readability.
667M isn't much specially if you consider that you have certainly additional services starting at start-up
[dropbox for example is usually heavy on ram]
Thanks, for the code tags, and yea I have dropbox starting.

To be honest I couldn't give a flying fig about RAM usage given my computers spec so I'll leave this thread in peace before I hijack it too often.
Image
Image

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby zerozero » 18 May 2014 22:10

Pen
no probs :)

===
ector
do you mind explain to us what those commands do and why we should use them?
it's not clear to me and to be honest posting commands and/or scripts without explanation of what they do is not nice.
bliss of ignorance

ector62
Posts: 18
Joined: 02 May 2014 22:25

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby ector62 » 18 May 2014 23:10

Code: Select all

~$ sudo ./freemem.sh
[sudo] password for me: 
This script clears cached mem and free's up some ram.
cached memory : 1281mb
free memory   : 5362mb
total memory  : 7893mb

memory freed  : 1321mb
total free    : 6683mb
~$ sudo sh -c "sync; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches"
~$ sudo ./freemem.sh
This script clears cached mem and free's up some ram.
cached memory : 412mb
free memory   : 6685mb
total memory  : 7893mb

memory freed  : 0mb
total free    : 6685mb
~$ 

Code: Select all

:~$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	SolydXK
Description:	SolydXK
Release:	1
Codename:	testing
goodnight
Last edited by zerozero on 19 May 2014 03:45, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: edited for language

kurotsugi
Posts: 2290
Joined: 09 Jan 2014 00:17

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby kurotsugi » 19 May 2014 02:36

allow to answer half of it

Code: Select all

sudo -s 
#it gives admin privilege on user shell so that we can avoid typing sudo in every command
sync
#AFAIK it sync the memory buffer of every process, clearing dirty mem usage
echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
#clear memory cache. you can also use 'sysctl -w vm.drop_caches=3' for same result
#his script is simply to make these process automatic. 
I have similar script used on android with small RAM but I never use it on linux because of several reason:
1. android consume bigger RAM. 1 gig is enough for linux but not for android. clearing cache on linux is not needed unless your system is overflowed with mem usage.
2. clearing cache cost battery live. high cache usage means less writing on RAM and less power usage.
3. this script need to be executed periodically to get optimum result. I prefer modify my sysctl.conf so that I don't have to run any script anymore.

elwydragon
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 May 2014 23:47

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby elwydragon » 23 May 2014 14:41

Thanks to you all for your help! I have investigated various things trying to get to the bottom of this. it seems that each process seems to be using far to much ram no matter how I measure it. Be it the task manager top in terminal etc, just can't see what it is doing. For example I've just opened up task manager "lxtask" is using 38.7mb and the list goes on At the moment with Firefox open I'm using 871mb of ram and I haven't changed anything except the proprietry drivers for my Nvidia gpu as my PC freezes with the open source one.

I used UNetbootin to install Solydx 32bit and when I tried to boot up I could only get Solydx to boot up without plymouth. When I booted up into the live solydx I opened up task manager and it was using 160mb of ram. I also booted it and installed it on virtual box and it is using 143mb of ram in the live environment and when i installed it it is using 159mb of ram.

I do wonder what would be the best option to use to install it because with the menu there are a lot oif options. At times my system is really heaving under the weight of usinh so much ram. But I do really Like Solydx, it is very polished, click, nice looking and lots of more upto date software than other Distros.

I'm going to install solydx again and see what happens but can anyone please advise me to which options on the menu i should use to boot up into the live OS and install it? Thanks

elwydragon
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 May 2014 23:47

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby elwydragon » 23 May 2014 15:15

I copied and pasted this from "Top" shortly after booting up, not starting any apps except Terminal:

Code: Select all

mike@desktop:~$ top

top - 16:07:33 up 2 min,  2 users,  load average: 0.49, 0.33, 0.14
Tasks: 147 total,   1 running, 146 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s):  6.0 us,  0.3 sy,  0.0 ni, 93.0 id,  0.7 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.0 si,  0.0 st
KiB Mem:   1812184 total,  1085256 used,   726928 free,    25652 buffers
KiB Swap:  1999868 total,        0 used,  1999868 free.   438160 cached Mem

  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND      
 3569 root      20   0  102480  60744  13792 S  3.0  3.4   0:02.62 Xorg         
 4819 mike      20   0  347044  41904  17204 S  2.7  2.3   0:00.64 xfce4-termi+ 
   33 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.3  0.0   0:00.09 kworker/0:2  
    1 root      20   0    2860    732    624 S  0.0  0.0   0:01.07 init         
    2 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd     
    3 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.03 ksoftirqd/0  
    4 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/0:0  
    5 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/0:0H 
    6 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/u12+ 
    7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:01.01 rcu_sched    
    8 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 rcu_bh       
    9 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/0  
   10 root      rt   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/0   
   11 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 khelper      
   12 root      20   0       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kdevtmpfs    
   13 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 netns        
   14 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 writeback

User avatar
zerozero
Posts: 5373
Joined: 10 Feb 2013 23:37
Location: West Midlands, England
Contact:

Re: Using far too much ram

Postby zerozero » 26 May 2014 01:41

elwydragon
still experiencing high ram usage?
bliss of ignorance


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests